Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Languages: Websites for Spanish Materials

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to Modern Languages

DATABASES FOR SPANISH RESEARCH

The databases listed here are available for students on the Jerry Falwell Library website.

Britannica Escolar

Elementary encyclopedia in Spanish, including articles, images, videos, and learning materials specifically designed for younger students

Britannica Moderna 

Spanish-language, academic-level encyclopedia plus a dictionary, atlas, timelines, and images

Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic

Primary source documents and media as well as peer-reviewed essays covering the heritage and culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United states from pre-16th century to the present, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and photographs
Recursos de la Biblioteca para LUE

Provides access to Liberty resources that have Spanish interfaces and content. 

Sabin Americana

Full-text books, pamphlets, broadsides, and documents providing firsthand accounts of more than 400 years of history in the Americas, including North, Central, and South America and the West Indies

WEBSITES FOR SPANISH RESEARCH

Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape

Collection of audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers reading from their works at the Library of Congress

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica

The National Library of Spain offers online free and open access to books, manscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, poseters, photographs, maps and atlases from the fifteenth to the nineteenth centuries.

Dialnet

A virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain.

Ficonofue: Fichero iconografico de la Fundacion Universitaria Espanola

Database of more than 80,000 images of Spanish works of art for teaching and research purposes.

Real Academia Espanola 

The Real Academia Española (RAE), or Spanish Royal Academy, is the institution charged with safeguarding the correct use of the Spanish language. It has links to the Royal Academy's Library and even has a site for verb conjugation.

Centro Virtual Cervantes

Internet Headquarters of the Cervantes Institute created to spread the Spanish language and culture in Spanish: exhibitions, monographs, reference works, 

SPANISH LANGUAGE NEWSPAPERS

Clarin 

Largest newspaper in Argentina

El Mundo

Daily newspaper in Spain

El Norte

Newspaper from Monterrey, Mexico

WEBSITES FOR VARIOUS SPANISH TOPICS

Lingus TV 

Provides on-site courses in Barcelona, Madrid, Seville and Cadiz.

Arte Historia

The History of art in Spain

Instituto Nacional de Estadistica

Site for national statistics.

Latin American Network Information Center

Web based resources on every aspect of the Spanish worlds.