Research Guides: Modern Languages: Arabic Resources

WELCOME TO THE ARABIC LANGUAGE RESOURCES GUIDE

Information found on these pages include language specific sources as well as resources about the arts, culture, music, literature and religion of Arabic countries. Databases are listed under the general database tab.

Presented below are sample titles found in the Jerry Falwell Library Collection that are related to the Arabic language. This is a combination of eBooks and physical titles.

CALL NUMBERS FOR ARABIC MATERIALS

General topic categories and their corresponding Library of Congress catalog numbers are listed below.

TOPIC	L C NUMBERS
Architecture	NA 380-388
Art	N 6260
Calligraphy	NK 3635.5
Crusades	D 152-199
Cultural Studies	DS 37
History, Asia	DS 41-392
History, North Africa	DS 43-346
Islam	BP 1-370
Language	PJ 6307
Literature, General Works	PJ 6001-8517
Literature, Classic	PJ 7694
Literature, Modern	PJ 7538
Philosophy	B 740-753
Poetry	PJ 7542-7543

Presented below are sample titles found in the Jerry Falwell Library Collection that are related to the Arabic language. This is a combination of eBooks and physical titles.

The Arabic Language by Kees Versteegh
Call Number: PJ6075 .V46 2014
ISBN: 9780748645282
Publication Date: 2014-06-30
Concentrating on the difference between the two types of Arabic - the classical standard language and the dialects - Kees Versteegh charts the history and development of the Arabic language from its earliest beginnings to modern times.The reader is given a solid grounding in the structure of the language, its historical context and its use in various literary and non-literary genres, as well as an understanding of the role of Arabic as a cultural, religious and political world language.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics, Volume 4 by Kees Versteegh (Editor); Mushira Eid (Editor); Alaa Elgibali (Editor); Manfred Woidich (Editor); Andrzej Zaborski (Editor)
Call Number: PJ6031 .E53 2006
ISBN: 9004144765
Publication Date: 2008-12-23
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics is a major multi-volume reference work. It is a unique collaboration of hundreds of scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic, dealing with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).
The Georgetown Dictionary of Iraqi Arabic by Mohamed Maamouri; Wayne Beene; B. E. Clarity; Karl Stowasser; Ronald G. Wolfe; D. R. Woodhead
Call Number: PJ6826 .G46 2013
ISBN: 1589019156
Publication Date: 2013-09-09
The Georgetown Dictionary of Iraqi Arabic is a modernized, up-to-date dialectal Arabic language resource that promotes successful daily communication with native Arabic speakers.