Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Languages: Databases for English as a Second Language

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to Modern Languages

JFL DATABASES TO USE FOR ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE

The JFL databases listed on this page are divided by the focus of the material they present. Some are found on the Modern Languages Page. Some are found on the Education Page and General Databases can be found under Browse by Letter.

A number of these databases have tutorials available as guides to their use.

JFL DATABASES ON THE MODERN LANGUAGES DATABASE PAGE

   

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 

Includes abstracts and index of international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, speech therapy, interpersonal communication, and group communication.

JSTOR

JSTOR maintains large coverage in the humanities, social science, and sciences (both ebooks and articles). Has some primary source material.

JFL GENERAL DATABASES USEFUL FOR FINDING INFORMATION ON ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGEGeneral Databases

Credo

Credo has full-text reference resource with articles, images, audio files, and videos covering every major subject . Useful for gaining background knowledge of your topic. May have useful references to further material useful to your research.

EBSCO (Quick Search)

A link to EBSCO is found on the Databases page under the large picture. It can search many databases on all major subject areas at once.

PROQUEST CENTRAL

A link to ProQuest Central is found on the Databases page under the letter P. It brings together databases across all major subject areas, including  Language.

                                      

JFL DATABASES WITH ESL INFORMATION LOCATED ON THE EDUCATION DATABASE PAGE

                

Education Database (ProQuest)

Full-text articles, dissertations, and other relevant sources in the field of education

Education Research Complete 

Database includes journals, including some full-text, books, and conference papers covering education research from early childhood to higher education for all educational specialties.

Education in Video

Video demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms as well as ready-to-use teaching such as course, study, and discussion guides; assessment checklists; and themed playlists

ERIC

Journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books, and monographs of education-related literature

Learn Tech Lab

Peer-reviewed international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-Learning