Grouped according to the focus of their content, the databases listed on this page are both general and specific in approach. All are useful in the study of various aspects of Modern Languages.
Descriptions of each database are included. Some of the databases have tutorials available on the database pages, to guide researchers through the variety of formats.
Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts
Contains an index of abstracts of international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Contains scholarly books and articles, some with full text, on a broad range of humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages, including the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals, with coverage back to the 1920s.
Scholarly ethnographic collection organized by regions, subregions, and cultures, covering all aspects of cultural and social life of indigenous peoples and ethnic groups from historical to contemporary times
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
This database is an index of chapters, books, conference papers, discussion materials, government reports, professional journals, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and working papers in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare since 1902.
Offers country information including culture, history, language, travel, and education. Video tutorial for this database available.
World Geography & Culture Online (Facts on File)
Contains articles, facts, maps, flags, statistics, videos, images, biographies of famous people, timeline, and current news related to the geography, history, society, and culture for each nation as well as U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and international territories
Asian American Experience: The American Mosaic
Contains primary and secondary sources including images, audio clips, documents, and videos that cover Asian American history as well as social, economic, and political issues from the 1500s to the present.
Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic
Contains primary source documents and media as well as peer-reviewed essays covering the heritage and culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States from pre-16th century to the present, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and photographs.
This is an elementary level encyclopedia in Spanish, including articles, images, videos, and learning materials specifically designed for younger students.
This title is a Spanish-language, academic-level encyclopedia plus a dictionary, atlas, timelines, and images.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926
Offers full-text books, pamphlets, broadsides, and documents providing firsthand accounts of more than 400 years of history in the Americas, including North, Central, and South America and the West Indies, drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana.
Offers full-text evidence-based reports and fact sheets in the Spanish language covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews of diseases, conditions, procedures, and various treatments.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Contains full-text of the ten-volume print encyclopedia along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Provides audio streams of sound recordings of the world's musical and aural traditions in diverse musical forms.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Has indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, including some full-text, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry.
Offers videos covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history, including documentaries as well as interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances.