Modern Languages: German Resources

The Oxford-Duden Pictorial German and English Dictionary, Second Edition identifies over 29,000 objects by means of numbered illustrations and offers at a glance their German and English terms. This new edition has been completely updated and revised to include the most recent innovations in science and technology and to offer increased coverage of all major fields of reference.

The Collins German Unabridged Dictionary contains the most comprehensive coverage of both German and English and the most up-to-date business, political, and technical terms. Most up-to-date: This edition has been extensively revised and updated to cover the recent worldwide German spelling reform. Its vocabulary of today's German, including thousands of new phrases and indicators, is complete and exhaustive.

The Oxford German Dictionary provides authoritative coverage of German and English with over 320,000 words and phrases, and 520,000 translations. Essential grammatical information and language usage notes are provided for both languages. This edition of the Oxford German Dictionary includes cultural notes, providing interesting and helpful information on life in the German- and English-speaking world.

This dictionary is the ideal supplement to the German/English Dictionary of Idioms, which together give a rich source of material for the translator from and into each language. The dictionary contains 15,000 headwords, each entry supplying the German equivalents, variants, contexts and the degree of currency/rarity of the idiomatic expression. This dictionary will be an invaluable resource for students and professional literary translators. Not for sale in Germany, Austria or Switzerland

This A-Z encyclopedia covers the Middle Ages in Germany. It offers the most recent scholarship available, while also providing details on the daily life of medieval Germans.

The Holocaust was perpetrated by the Nazis as a means of eliminating the Jews from the planet. It was an unprecedented event in history, inasmuch as a nation state had never before targeted an entire people for extinction. Yet, more than half a century later, there is a tendency to forget, if not to relativize, the Nazi extermination campaign against the Jews. More insidiously, a vicious effort is being made in limited circles to deny the Holocaust. The Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust is another reminder of what happened to the Jews and other victims of Nazi Germany's genocidal policies. In the years since the publication of the first edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust a significant amount of scholarship has been published. The second edition expands upon the first with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant events, personalities, issues, and films and literature_because much of the public derive their understanding of the Holocaust from the arts. Libraries will find this book to be an indispensable research tool.