Research Guides: GOVT 330 Comparative Politics: Databases

Ask Us

Robert Weaver

Email Me

Contact:

Jerry Falwell Library 2nd Floor

434-592-3358

Subjects: Government, Politics

Media

The library has access to many relevant media resources as well.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Videos from the 1890s to 1980s, encompassing early newsreels and full-length documentaries of American History

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using American History in Video.

Guides by Subject

Aeronautics Research Guide
by Tom Fesmire Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 2668 views this year
Biology & Chemistry Research Guide
by Abigail Sattler Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 1081 views this year
Business Research Guide
by David Leffler Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 99002 views this year
Cinematic and Theater Arts Research Guide
by Michael Macasa Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 624 views this year
Engineering Research Guide
by Mike Cobb Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 766 views this year
Counseling & Psychology Research Guide
by Randy Miller Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 20684 views this year
Digital Media & Communication Arts Research Guide
by Michael Macasa Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 1403 views this year
Education Research Guide
by Lyn Mathews Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 27376 views this year
English Research Guide
by Rachel Schwedt Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 7544 views this year
Allied Health
by Miranda Sutherland Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 1340 views this year
Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide
by Hannah Lowder Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 2510 views this year
Government Research Guide
by Robert Weaver Last Updated Oct 4, 2024 4293 views this year
History Research Guide
by Jeremy McGinniss Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 21387 views this year
Mathematics Research Guide
by Abigail Sattler Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 500 views this year
Modern Languages
by Rachel Schwedt Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 1647 views this year
Music Research Guide
by Rachel Schwedt Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 2789 views this year
Academic Affairs for Athletics Research Guide
by Amanda Hahn Last Updated Aug 29, 2024 685 views this year
Nursing Research Guide
by Andi Molinet Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 7866 views this year
Public and Community Health
by Joshua Marsh Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 1657 views this year
Religion & Philosophy Research Guide
by William Coberly Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 68538 views this year
Social Work
by Amanda Hahn Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 6282 views this year
Hospitality and Sport Management Research Guide
by Kim Day Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 4498 views this year
Studio & Digital Arts Research Guide
by Emma Sattler Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 1876 views this year

Other Guides and Resources

Alumni Research Guide
by Amanda Hahn Last Updated Aug 29, 2024 395 views this year
Faculty Services
by Randy Miller Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 738 views this year
How to Find and Use E-books
by Emma Sattler Last Updated Aug 29, 2024 3007 views this year
Live Healthy Liberty
by Amanda Hahn Last Updated Aug 29, 2024 223 views this year

Turabian Citation Help

Turabian Writing Guide
Having trouble with the Turabian citation style? We have a whole LibGuide for that.
Turabian help from CASAS
From the CASAS Academic Success Center
Public Documents in Turabian format
Presented by the University of Valley Forge
Turabian Footnote & Endnote style
Provided by the Georgetown University library
Chicago/Turabian style
Provided by EasyBib

Featured Resources

Political Handbook of the World 2021 by Lansford, Tom
ISBN: 1544384726
The Political Handbook of the World provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information, with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies than any other reference guide. The updated 2020-2021 edition will continue to be the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country’s governmental and political makeup.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in politics such as international relations, partisanship, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis
RANE Worldview (formerly Stratfor Worldview) This link opens in a new window
Reports of global events on economics, energy, global conflicts, politics, technology, and more
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering criminal investigations, criminal law, forensic sciences, history of crime, policing, prisons, probations, substance abuse, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, covering federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law
Credo This link opens in a new window
Literati brings together Encyclopedia, Dictionary and Journal entries on a topic along with maps, images and video.

Country Data Resources

This list includes databases from the Jerry Falwell Library that provide information about countries of the world, in statistical and textual form.

CIA World Fact Book
Annual Publication of the CIA, provides statistical and text data on all the nations of the world - political, social, economic, and demographic.

AtoZ MapsOnline This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of various types of maps such as country maps, city maps, climate maps, geology maps, ecology maps, topographic maps, and other types of maps

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using AtoZ Maps.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Current news and information on many countries, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Detailed Information on every country for understanding country-specific cultural norms such as business culture, communication styles, significant historical events, religious views, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Global Road Warrior.
World Geography & Culture Online (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Detailed breakdowns of countries on a country's geography, culture, weather, history, government, and more