Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic Affairs for Athletics Research Guide: Databases

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding research information for our athletes.

Need Help? Contact Us.

CHAT with a research consultant. Or use the red "Ask Us" box on the right side of the screen or blue floating "Chat x" button. After library hours, refer to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).

EMAIL your question to research@liberty.edu

APPOINTMENT schedule a meeting.

CALL  (434) 592-3362 for assistance.

Guides by Subject

Other Guides and Resources

Welcome to the JFL

The library has numerous tutorials to help navigate the databases and learn effective search strategies.

To use any of the resources as if you were on campus make sure you are logged into the VPN at vpn.liberty.edu.

Databases

Database Resources

We understand that learning to find articles for research can be challenging, and we are happy to help!

So what is a database? Consider this analogy: A database is like a file cabinet, and journals are like the file folders inside. Just as a file folder holds papers, journals hold articles. Unlike a file cabinet where you must go first to the folder level to get papers, electronic databases allow you to search directly at the article level. So to find articles, look in databases! Some databases hold articles regarding many subject areas and others are more subject-specific. In general, the more focused your research is, the more important it becomes to use subject-specific databases.

Spending Time in the Word