Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: Family &amp; Child Development

Ask Us

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

Internships and Career Positions

AtoZ Academics—Information on businesses and households in the United States that is beneficial for company or industry research, building business plans, conducting market research, and helping entrepreneurs

Media

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Video streams of films for education, enrichment, and entertainment.
(Please note that there may be films in this collection that do not align with the views of Liberty University. It is expected that students will abide by the Liberty Way and use discretion.)

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Kanopy
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Video demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms as well as ready-to-use teaching such as course, study, and discussion guides; assessment checklists; and themed playlists

Areas of Specialization

Family counseling
Early childhood development
Child development
Adult care program specialist
Child advocate
Child life specialist
Children’s pastor/minister
Daycare/preschool teacher
Overseas orphanage representative
Social worker

Library of Congress Subject headings relevant to Family & Child Development

Childhood development
Child Psychology
Day Care Centers
Families - psychological aspects

Within the 3rd floor book shelves, robotic system or electronic resource (online book) can be searched by call number:

LB 1140 has Preschool Education
LB 1115 has Psychology of Children
LB 1119 has Research of Education
LC 37 - 44.3 has Homeschooling
LC 3950 - 5160.3 has Special Needs in Education..

Useful Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and magazines, including many peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical sources covering a broad range of sociology studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work with coverage back to 1895

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using SocINDEX
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text consumer health magazines and reference books as well as reports and current health pamphlets

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center is the world’s largest digital library of educational literature, including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ERIC (EBSCO)
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more related to social sciences and with an international scope, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Social Science Premium Collection

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Diet Fads: Understanding Science and Society, 2nd Edition by Marjolijn Bijlefeld; Sharon K. Zoumbaris
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781610697606
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Food and Nutrition Controversies Today by Myrna Chandler Goldstein; Mark A. Goldstein
Call Number: TX357 .G5745 2009
ISBN: 9780313354021
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Couples and Family Relationships by Gery C. Karantzas (Editor); Patricia Noller (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781444334500
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
Pediatric Nutrition by Ronald E. Kleinman (Editor); Frank R. Greer (Associate Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781581108194
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by David A. Bender
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780199234875
Publication Date: 2009-03-05

Books

Planning and Administering Early Childhood Programs by Celia A. Decker; John R. Decker; Nancy K. Freeman; Herman Knopf
ISBN: 9780132656924
Publication Date: 2012-02-05
Cognitive Development in Digital Contexts by Fran C. Blumberg (Editor); Patricia J. Brooks (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128097090
Publication Date: 2017-07-05
Modern Families by Susan Golombok
ISBN: 9781107295377
Publication Date: 2015-03-05
When Your Child Has Food Allergies by Mireille Schwartz
ISBN: 9780814434062
Publication Date: 2017-04-20
Pediatric Nutrition by Ronald E. Kleinman (Editor); Frank R. Greer (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781581108194
Publication Date: 2013-10-25
Homeschooling by James G. Dwyer; Shawn F. Peters
Call Number: LC 40 .D994 2019
ISBN: 9780226627113
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Gifted Education and Gifted Students by Kelly C. Margot
Call Number: LC 3993 .M369 2020
ISBN: 9781618218933
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Taking Flight by Perry LaRoque
Call Number: LC 4818.5 .L37 2020
ISBN: 9781642796063
Publication Date: 2020-03-17