Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 365

Ask Us

Hannah Lowder

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

Research Project Help

Research Log

APA Style

APA Style

RefWorks - Organize your research and easily generate reference lists.

Academic Success Center APA Formatting Quick Guide

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window

Developing a Research Question

Retrieved 8/26/2018 at https://youtu.be/LWLYCYeCFak

More Resources

E-book Help
A guide on how to find and use the library's e-books, including information about downloading and device compatibility.
Interlibrary Loan
This link takes you to the ILL sign-in page. Create an account in Illiad, and you can request books, videos and more from other libraries across the country.

WorldCat
Use WorldCat to search through resources available in libraries around the world. Then use Interlibrary Loan to request it.

Research Proposal: Choosing a Topic

Topic Search

Need assistance with choosing a topic

Issues & Controversies (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Current topic search
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Current topic search

Reference/Dictionary

Get more information about your topic to narrow your topic further.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Reference
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Dictionary
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference
Credo This link opens in a new window
Reference
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference

Professional Websites

Research Proposal: Research Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in social sciences, humanities, multicultural studies, education, and more

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Academic Search Ultimate
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays across all fields of religion and theology including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to the present

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Index of Christian magazines and journals with strong emphasis on evangelical perspectives, including a broad range of topics such as religion, science, literature, music, philosophy, history, nursing, and education from the mid-1970s to the present

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, magazines, health reference books and encyclopedias, evidence-based health reports, and more covering all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary and holistic medicine
EBSCO QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text consumer health magazines and reference books as well as reports and current health pamphlets

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines, many full-text and scholarly, as well as titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations covering diverse religious and spiritual topics from the perspectives of many worldwide religions with coverage since 1986

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Religion Database (ProQuest)

Research Proposal: Literature review

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window

Evaluate sources

1. Currency: What is the copyright, publication, or posting date? Is the information outdated?

2. Relevance: Is the source considered popular or scholarly? Does the source answer your research question?

3. Authority: Who is the author? Is the author credible or expert on topic? Author's background (experience or education)?

4. Accuracy: Does the information see accurate? What kind of language,imagery, or tone is used (emotional, objective, professional)?

5. Purpose: What is the purpose or motive of source (educational, commercial, entertainment, or promotional)? Does the source seem biased?

Research Proposal: Research Design and methods

American Assoc. of Family & Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Qualitative and Quantitative studies

Qualitative: Qualitative data is information about qualities; information that can't actually be measured. An example of qualitative data is the shape of your eyes. Example: The softness of a cat. (Qualitative.)

Quantitative: Quantitative data is information about quantities; that is, information that can be measured and written down with numbers. Some examples of quantitative data are your height, your shoe size, and the length of your fingernails. Examples: The age of your car. (Quantitative.)

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Full-text books, reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, and datasets covering research methods across the social sciences

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using SAGE Research Methods
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Behavioral measurement instruments abstracted from leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences (Updated quarterly)

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database

Finding Tests and Instruments

Liberty University Research Week
Research Week is a multidisciplinary annual event sponsored by the Center for Research & Scholarship, the Graduate School, and the Jerry Falwell Library.

Designed to highlight excellent research and scholarship produced by Liberty University students, Research Week is open to both residential and online students.

Developing a Research Question Video notes