Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 475

Ask Us

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

APA Citation Style

The Academic Success Center has an APA Quick Guide available for reference, and the Academic Writer database below provides access to APA citation samples of journal articles, books, websites, and many other resource types. Just select the Learn box after entering the Academic Writer database.

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
Digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA Style

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Academic Writer

Interlibrary Loan

If the PDF or Full Text of an article is unavailable in JFL databases, you may request it through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Key Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in social sciences, humanities, multicultural studies, education, and more

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Academic Search Ultimate
APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Full-text of APA journals, book chapters, and reference works; abstracts of peer-reviewed literature; psychotherapy videos; psychological tests, scales, and other measurement tools; conference papers, patient materials, brochures, and other gray literature related to behavioral and social science through a single search of multiple American Psychological Association databases

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using APA PsycNet
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters as well as full-text evidence-based care sheets, lessons, and continuing education modules with coverage dating back to 1937

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CINAHL Ultimate
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Index of chapters, books, conference papers, discussion materials, government reports, professional journals, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and working papers in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare since 1902

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, evidence-based and peer-reviewed articles and citations from biomedical and health journals for medical professionals and researchers with coverage since 1880, including health policy development, public health, and biomedical engineering
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines as well as television and radio news transcripts (Ongoing, daily updates)

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals and magazines, including peer-reviewed journals, on the topics of gender identity, marriage and family, demographics, political sociology, religion, and sociocultural anthropology

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database

Images

These sites offer free to use images. Bing and Google sites will need to be limited to "free to use" to limit the results correctly. To avoid plagiarism make sure you cite/give attribution to the author.

Creative Commons: Openverse image search
Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses.
Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets
This portal features content that is free to use and reuse. The Library of Congress believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set is based on a theme.
The British Library
A collection of over 1 million public domain images from digitized copies of 17th, 18th, and 19th-century books.
San Diego Air & Space Museum Archives on Flickr
These are lo-res digital images from the San Diego Air and Space Museum's Library and Archives, which houses over one million aviation-related photos, slides, and transparencies.
Google Images
On the lower right of the search page, select Settings. On the Settings page, scroll down to Usage Rights and select Free to Use... to meet your goals for your results.
Wellcome Collection
Find thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos, and images of historical library materials and museum objects.
Bing Images
Enter your search. On the search results page, use the drop-down menu under "License" to filter search results.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Provided by the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention. Types of image categories/collections include influenza, natural disasters, environmental health, bioterrorism, health behaviors, and more.

Theories for Research

Family Theory

Cognitive Behavior Theory

ABC-X Theory

Possible Topics

Addictions - alcohol; narcotics; sexual; gambling
PTSD and trauma
Resilience
Developmental and intellectual disabilities
Aging and stress
Divorce; blended families
Economic stress
Race; ethnicity
U.S. Veterans
School and community mass violence
Physical illness
Death, dying and grief
Suicide

Research Tips

Create a list of keywords related to your topic. Use those keywords to perform several searches in the Key Databases list. For example:

Canva

Access the Canva website and browse brochure templates through the links below.

Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 475

FACS 475 Families Under Stress