Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 325

Ask Us

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

Library of Congress Classification

To find books for fashion design or clothing design go to the main search bar on library home page (www.liberty.edu/library/),

select Advanced Search.
in the "All Fields" dropdown choose call number.
Put TT 507 in the space bar.

You will discover all the books we have in that classification for fashion.

Selected Books

100 Ideas That Changed Fashion by Harriet Worsley
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781856697330
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Decades by Cameron Silver; Rebecca DiLiberto
Call Number: Oversize Books - GT596 .S55 2012
ISBN: 9781596916630
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
Shoes by Giorgio Riello (Editor); Peter McNeil (Editor)
Call Number: GT2130 .S468 2006
ISBN: 9781845204433
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
The Dictionary of Fashion History by C. W. Cunnington; P. E. Cunnington; Valerie Cumming
Call Number: GT507 .C86 2010
ISBN: 9781847885340
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Valerie Steele
Call Number: GT507 .E53 2005
ISBN: 0684313944
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Slow Fashion by Safia Minney
Call Number: TT497 .M56 2016
ISBN: 9781780262833
Publication Date: 2016-05-24
Modern Fashion Traditions by M. Angela Jansen (Editor); Jennifer Craik (Editor); Joanne B. Eicher (Contribution by)
Call Number: GT1370 .M64 2016, Book Tower - Level 2
ISBN: 9781474229494
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Fashion Forecasting by Evelyn L. Brannon; Lorynn R. Divita
Call Number: TT497 .B69 2015, Book Tower - Level 3
ISBN: 9781628925463
Publication Date: 2015-09-24
The Dress Detective by Ingrid Mida; Alexandra Kim
Call Number: TT497 .M54 2015, Book Tower - Level 3
ISBN: 9781472573988
Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Fashion Game Changers by Kaat Debo (Editor); Bárbara Coutinho (Editor); Miren Arzalluz (Editor); Karen Van Godtsenhoven (Editor)
Call Number: TT504.6.E85 F37 2016
ISBN: 9781474279048
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
The Business of Fashion by Leslie Davis Burns; Kathy K. Mullet; Nancy O. Bryant
Call Number: Jerry Falwell Library, TT496.U6 B87 2011, JFL Books in Robotic System
ISBN: 9781609011109
Publication Date: 2011-10-21
Decoding the New Consumer Mind: How and Why We Shop and Buy by Kit Yarrow
Call Number: Jerry Falwell Library, HF5415.32 .Y37 2014, JFL Book Tower-Level Two
ISBN: 9781306637985
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Additional Online Books

Selected Databases

Credo This link opens in a new window
Great for background information and narrowing your topic.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Background
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed article abstracts covering architecture, crafts, fashion, graphic design, industrial design, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI).
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles in business, computer science, social sciences, humanities, multicultural studies, education, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Academic Search Ultimate.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering a variety of topics in art and architecture such as art history, ceramics, costume design, graphic arts, interior design, painting, photography, sculpture, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
Also known as Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Rights-cleared images from the best collections in the world
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Please use the link to have access to use WindowsWear. WindowsWear sign in
.

Images to use in your project. Review the Creative Commons license and make sure you give attribution (cite) the author when using an image.

Creative Commons
Images that can be used as long as you cite them (give attribution) by using Flickr or Google Images.

Professor Recommended Journals and Magazines

Selected Websites

WWD (Women’s Wear Daily) This link opens in a new window
Breaking news, commentary, slideshows, and videos covering fashion, trend forecasts, and expert analysis of the fashion and beauty industry

Additional Resources

Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
2004-present (18 month delay)
Fashion and Textiles
ProQuest Central
2014-present
Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management
Journal by Name
ProQuest Central
2003-present (one year delay)
International Journal of Consumer Studies
Journal by Name
Wiley Online Journal
2001-present
Social Forces
Journal by Name
Oxford Journals
1996-present
Business History
Journal by Name
EBSCO Business Search Complete
1958-present (18 month delay)
Journal of International Business
Journal by Name
EBSCO Business Search Complete
2011-present
Journal of Business Research

Additional Online Journals

To obtain access to these journal titles go the the library website at www.liberty.edu/library. Then scroll down to Journals by Name (https://liberty.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/jsearch?vid=01LIBU_INST:Services&lang=en) .

Journal Titles:

Allure, NY 2005-present ProQuest Central

Cosmopolitan, NY 1996-present ProQuest Central

Esquire, NY 1996-present ProQuest Central

Fashion, Toronto 1986-2000 ProQuest Central

Flare, Toronto 1993-2015 ProQuest Central

Flare (online) June 2018-present ProQuest Central

GQ: NY 2014-present ProQuest Central

Harper's Bazaar,NY 1999-present ProQuest Central

Impressions, NY 2000-presnt ProQuest Central

Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management, Bradford

2003-present ProQuest Central

Seventeen, NY 2003-present ProQuest Central

Teen Vogue, NY 2005-2017 ProQuest Central

Vanity Fair 2003-present ProQuest Central

Vogue, NY 2005-present ProQuest Central

W, NY 2009-present ProQuest Central

Textile: The Journal of Cloth & Culture

2003-2010 EBSCO Academic

Search Complete

Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture

2004-present EBSCO Academic

Search Complete

Fashion History Open Access

Fashion History Timeline
Open Access - Creative Commons resource.
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

APA Citations

Liberty Center for Writing and Languages: APA Quick Guide
APA Formatting

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
User-friendly platform for writing papers in APA format that contains templates, reference-checking tools, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Academic Writer.

Images and APA

I have created a tab above titled, APA Citation Examples. This contains the new 7th edition changes and how LU had decided to use.

Consumer Research Project

FACS 325 Consumer Research Project tip sheet

Credo This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Use for qualitative and quantitative studies. Research Tools - Project Planner - Data Collection sends you to information about data collection.

Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 325