Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 205

Ask Us

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

APA Citation Style

The Academic Success Center has an APA Quick Guide available for reference, and the Academic Writer database below provides access to APA citation samples of journal articles, books, websites, and many other resource types. Just select the Learn box after entering the Academic Writer database.

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
Digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers in APA Style

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Academic Writer

Interlibrary Loan

If the PDF or Full Text of an article is unavailable in JFL databases, you may request it through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Choosing a Topic

Browse these databases for issues and topics that are in the headlines. Read about the different sides of the issues and identify keywords to use in the research databases below.

Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, primary source documents, biographies, timelines, editorial cartoons, and statistics covering the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history and including every region of the world from antiquity to present
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-length articles with in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, including an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CQ Researcher

Research Databases

Use keywords to search the databases below.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in social sciences, humanities, multicultural studies, education, and more

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Academic Search Ultimate
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays across all fields of religion and theology including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to the present

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Index of Christian magazines and journals with strong emphasis on evangelical perspectives, including a broad range of topics such as religion, science, literature, music, philosophy, history, nursing, and education from the mid-1970s to the present

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center is the world’s largest digital library of educational literature, including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ERIC (EBSCO)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
RightNow Media This link opens in a new window
Video streams of Bible studies as well as topics such as marriage, finances, parenting, youth, recovery, and leadership along with wholesome, educational, and entertaining videos for kids.

PLEASE NOTE: First-time users will need to select the link above to create an account to access this resource.

Click Here if you have an existing account

Evaluate Resources

Evaluation criteria

1. Currency: What is the copyright, publication, or posting date? Is the information outdated?

2. Relevance: Is the source considered popular or scholarly? Does the source answer your research question?

3. Authority: Who is the author? Is the author credible or expert on topic? Author's background (experience or education)?

4. Accuracy: Does the information see accurate? What kind of language,imagery, or tone is used (emotional, objective, professional)?

5. Purpose: What is the purpose or motive of source (educational, commercial, entertainment, or promotional)? Does the source seem biased?

Research Tips

Create a list of keywords related to your topic. Use those keywords to perform several searches in the Key Databases list. For example:

Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 205

FACS 205 Development of Contemporary Families