Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 200

Ask Us

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

Interlibrary Loan

If the PDF or Full Text of an article is unavailable in JFL databases, you may request it through the Interlibrary Loan service.

APA Citation Style

The Academic Success Center has an APA Quick Guide available for reference, and the Academic Writer database below provides access to APA citation samples of journal articles, books, websites, and many other resource types. Just select the Learn box after entering the Academic Writer database.

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
User-friendly platform for writing papers in APA format that contains templates, reference-checking tools, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Academic Writer.

Change Theory Research

Change Theory Research

Here are three ideas for study areas. Despite the fact that these are only suggestions, you are encouraged to use your imagination to conduct research on subjects other than these three.

Topic 1 - Supply Chain

Topic 2 - Design Business Structure/Industry Change

Topic 3 - Environmental Focused Design

Due to the multidisciplinary nature of these subjects, use the journals listed below in addition to the Journal of Interior Design.

Browse the journals for ideas and inspiration or use keywords to search for specific topics.

Sociology

Design and Culture: The Journal of the Design Studies Forum

The International Journal of Architectonic, Spacial, and Environmental Design

International Journal of Sociology

Economics

Architectural Engineering and Design Management

Economy and Society (online)

Frame: The International Review of Interior Architecture Design

Globalization & Business

Resources

Annals of Operations Research

Journal of Supply Chain Management

Research in Transportation Economics

Journal of Transportation and Supply Chain Management

Information

Information & Culture

Consumer Preferences

Journal of Consumer Behavior

Time

Time & Mind: The Journal of Archaeology, Consciousness and Culture

Time & Society

Technology

International Journal of Virtual Reality

Technology and Culture (online)

Key Databases

Search these databases using keywords related to your topic.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles in business, computer science, social sciences, humanities, multicultural studies, education, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Academic Search Ultimate.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering a variety of topics in art and architecture such as art history, ceramics, costume design, graphic arts, interior design, painting, photography, sculpture, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and other trusted news sources for regional business in the United States and Canadian provinces with coverage since 1990

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of subjects such as business, health, education, multicultural issues, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper articles from USA Today, The Washington Post, Star Tribune, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Honolulu Star-Advertiser, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and more (Updated Daily)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.

Other Select Databases

Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed article abstracts covering architecture, crafts, fashion, graphic design, industrial design, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI).
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional publications, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports covering all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using ProQuest Central.

Search Tips

Brainstorm a list of keywords related to your topic. For example,

Interior design
Recession
Globalization
Closed concept OR open concept
Smart technology

Use a combination of your search terms to search the databases on the Key Databases list. For example,

Search 1 - "interior design" AND recession
Search 2 - "interior design" AND ("closed concept" trends OR "open concept" trends)
Search 3 - design AND smart home technology

Note: Placing multiple words in quotation marks connects them as a phrase and will search the database for that specific phrase.

Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 200