Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: FACS 300

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to the Family and Consumer Science degree programs.

FACS 300

Ask Us

Profile Photo
JoHannah Lowder
Contact:
(434) 582-2821
Subjects: Nursing

Books

Books on Reserve

This list contains physical books that are put on reserve to use for projects in this class.  Please go to the library customer service desk on the main level and request to borrow any of these books that are in the reserve room.  Tell the staff person that it is for Prof Campbell, FACS 300 and the book title you wish to see.  They are only available for short borrow times so all the students can use these items.

Books in the Library Catalog (physical and eBooks)

We don't have the article or book you need. Now what?

We do not have the article or book I need.

If you have a particular article or book that you feel would benefit your research and we do not have access to it, use InterLibrary Loan.  We have a system of sharing items with other libraries.  Visit InterLibrary Loan and see if they can help.  It is a free service of the Jerry Falwell Library.

APA Style

APA Style

RefWorks - Organize your research and easily generate reference lists.

Evaluate Your Resource

CRAAP Test: Evaluate information/article
1. Currency: What is the copyright, publication, or posting date?   Is the information outdated?  Are links functional?
2. Relevance: Is the source considered popular or scholarly?  Does the source answer your research question? Who is the intended audience?  
3. Authority: Who is the author/ publisher/source/sponsor?  What are the authors credentials or organizational affiliations?  Author's background (experience or education)?
4. Accuracy: Where did the information come from?  What kind of language,imagery, or tone is used (emotional, objective,        professional)?  Are there spelling, grammar, or typographical errors?
5. Purpose: What is the purpose or motive of source (educational, commercial, entertainment, or promotional)?  Does the source seem biased?  

Databases

Databases

Online Journal

Online Journals

Use Journal by Name on the JFL website.  On main page, scroll down and look for Journal by Name.

Titles include:

American Journal of Alzheimer's Disease & Other Dementias

The Gerontologist

Research on Aging (use search at the top of the page and choose all publications then enter your keywords and limit the date)

Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine

Clinical Interventions in Aging

Geriatric Orthopedic Surgery & Rehabilitation

Behavioral  Neurology

 

Organizations Internet Resources

ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG): www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards

Alzheimer's Foundation of America (ALFZFD): www.alzfdn.org

American Association of Retired Persons (AARP): www.aarp.org

American Society of Interior Designers (ASID): www.asid.org

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): www.ada.gov

Architectural Barriers Act (ABA): www.access-board.gov

Elder Care: www.eldercare4families.com

Environments for Aging (EFA): www.environmentsforaging.com

Gray Panthers: www.graypanthers.org

Illuminating Engineering Society of North America: www.ies.org

Long Term Care Education (LTCE): www.ltce.com

National Fire Protection Association (NEPA): www.nfpa.org

National Hospice and Palliative Care Org: www.nhpco.org

National Institute of Senior Centers: www.ncoa.org

U.S. Census: www.census.gov

U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC): www.usgbc.org

U.S. Medicare: www.medicare.gov

U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA): www.ssa.gov

Virginia Specific Resources:

Office for Aging Services: www.vda.virginia.gov

Virginia Health Information (VHI): www.vhi.org

Virginia Department of Social Services: www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/alf.cgi 

 

Library of Congress Classification

Look on the shelves for books in this area or search the catalog. 

To search catalog: 

  1.  choose Advanced Search
  2.  select from the drop-down menu, Call Number
  3.  in the search box put NA or NK (depending on what you are searching for) 
  4.  Content-type choose Books/eBooks

NA - Architecture

1-60........................................General
100-130..................................Architecture and the state
190-1555.5..............................History
1995........................................Architecture as a profession
2000-2320..............................Study and teaching. Research
2335-2360..............................Competitions
2400-2460..............................Museums. Exhibitions
2500-2599..............................General works
2599.5-2599.9........................Architectural criticism
2695-2793..............................Architectural drawing and design
2835-4050..............................Details and decoration
4100-8480..............................Special classes of buildings
4100-4145..............................Classed by material
4150-4160..............................Classed by form
4170-8480..............................Classed by use
4170-(7020)............................Public buildings
4590-5621..............................Religious architecture
7100-7884..............................Domestic architecture. Houses. Dwellings
7910-8125..............................Clubhouses, guild houses, etc.
8200-8260..............................Farm architecture
8300-8480.............................Outbuildings, gates, fences, etc.
9000-9428..............................Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying

NK - Decorative arts

1-570......................................General
600-806..................................History
1135-1149.5............................Arts and crafts movement
1160-1590..............................Decoration and ornament. Design
1160-1174...............................General
1175-(1498).............................History
1505-1535...............................General works
1548-1590...............................Special subjects for design
1648-1678..............................Religious art
1700-2195..............................Interior decoration. House decoration
1700-2138...............................General. History, etc. Including special rooms
2140-2180...............................Decorative painting
2190-2192...............................Church decoration
2200-2750..............................Furniture
2775-2898..............................Rugs and carpets
2975-3049..............................Tapestries
3175-3296.3............................Upholstery. Drapery
3375-3496.3............................Wallpapers
3600-(9990)............................Other arts and art industries
3700-4695....................................Ceramics
4700-4890....................................Costume
5100-5440....................................Glass
5500-6060....................................Glyptic arts
6400-8459....................................Metalwork
8800-9505.5..................................Textiles
9600-9955....................................Woodwork

Research Paper

Research Paper: Housing Considerations for the Aged

Finding articles in our databases

Examples of terms:  "age in place", gerontechnology, elderly, "living environment", "senior living", "senior housing", "assisted living", design, "independent living", interior design. furnishings. 

Find synonyms for Memory Care, Ambulatory, Diminished Vision, Interior design, elderly, senior living

Some examples may be:

  • Memory Care: Alzheimer's, dementia, memory loss
  • Ambulatory: disabled, handicapped
  • Diminished Vision: blind, limited vision, macular degeneration   
  • Interior Design: interior design and furnishings, remodel, redecorate
  • Elderly: senior, aged, geriatric
  • Senior living: senior living, senior housing, assisted living, independent living, nursing homes, memory care facilities

Example of using a dissertation/thesis

"Knottingham Gardens: A Therapeutic Home for Moderate Alzheimer's Sufferers" by Fine, Sandra Weill (see link below)

Review the thesis.  Review the Reference listing for relevant sources. 

Research Proposal

McBride Stephens, LLC Client Proposal

Background:

  1. Natural amenities: lake, golf, boating, public beach
  2. What is nearby? hospital, stores
  3. Demographics: age, income, etc.
    1. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute Project) 
      1. Go to "How Healthy is your Community" put in Bedford, VA
      2. On the right side of the page are other counties in VA to search for statistics.
    2. Rural Health Information Hub (funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy) 
      1. Go to Rural Data Explorer
      2. Can choose Population 65 or older and then choose VA state and narrow search to county.
    3. PolicyMap (database)
      1. Go to Reports 
      2. Location: input Pittsylvania, VA; Franklin, VA; Bedford, VA separately for individual report
    4. U.S. Census (gov't website)
      1. Access Local Data
      2. Search Franklin County, VA; Pittsylvania County, VA; Bedford County, VA
    5. Bizminer (database)
      1. Competitive Market Narrative - Nursing Care Facilities - Danville, VA & Lynchburg, VA
      2. 3-Ring Demographic Data - Huddleston, VA 24104 - 25, 50, and 99 miles

Resources:

  1. Business Insight Global (database)
    1. Search-assisted living (industry) 
    2. Assisted Living Facilities for the Elderly
    3. Industry Leaders
    4. Articles (front page) "Scholarly journals"; search for assisted living; limit date range
  2. IBIS World (database)
    1. Search bar: retirement communities
    2. Review the Navigation on the left sidebar
  3. Virginia Department of Social Services
    1. Choose location: Bedford County, Franklin County, or Pittsylvania
    2. List assisted living facilities, non-ambulatory, and special care
  4. Senior Navigator
    1. 501c3 non-profit org. Provides free info and resources available in Virginia
  5. Virginia Health Information
    1. Continuing Care Retirement Communities
    2. Long-term care guide
    3. Long-term care resources
  6. Research other county retirement communities 
    1. Google search "county name" "retirement communities" or "assisted living" or "elderly housing" 
    2. Review the competition

Search databases for trends:

Search terms: 

  • “retirement communities”
  • “assisted living”
  • “assisted living facilities”
  • “elderly housing”
  • “nursing care facilities”
  • “long term elder care”
  • “memory care”
  • “continuing care retirement communities”
  1. Academic Search Ultimate
    1. assisted living or nursing home or long term care AND interior design
  2. Health Business Elite
  3. Business Source Complete (Business Search Interface)
  4. Business Source Complete
  5. Family & Society Studies Worldwide
  6. Alt Healthwatch
  7. Business Insights: Global: front page, scholarly article; "assisted living"; limit date 

Search books: 

Designing Commercial Interiors

  1. ch. 11; Senior Living Facilities (images and floor plans)

 

Images

These sites offer free to use images. Bing and Google sites will need to be limited to "free to use" to limit the results correctly. To avoid plagiarism make sure you cite/give attribution to the author.