Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences Research Guide: Fashion Merchandising

Ask Us

Hannah Lowder

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Family & Consumer Sciences

Areas of Specialization

Buyer
Visual display specialist
Retail manager
Sales representative
Stylist
Apparel designer
Fashion illustrator
Clothing constructionist
Boutique entrepreneur
Sample maker
Fashion merchandising
Fashion design

Library of Congress Subject headings relevant to Fashion.

Fashion Design
Fashion Merchandising

Library of Congress Classification range TT 490-695 (Clothing manufacturing, dressmaking, tailoring)

Databases

Fairchild Books Library
Also called Bloomsbury Fashion Central. E-books related to fashion, including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more, plus supplemental study materials for students
Fashion History Timeline
Open Access - Creative Commons resource.
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, encompassing the contents of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline databases

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ABI/Inform Collection
Business Source Ultimate (formerly Business Source Complete) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more (Updated daily)

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Business Source Ultimate
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, books, magazines, and trade journals covering design and applied arts since the mid-19th century

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Competitor intelligence and trend data for retail and e-commerce visuals, including retail design, window displays, product packaging, and more with coverage back to 1931

Please note that you will need to create an account to access this on your first use by following these steps:
1. Fill out the form presented on the screen and sign in as "Student."
2. Select the purple "Join" button.
3. Verify your account when you receive an email from WindowsWear.
WWD (Women’s Wear Daily) This link opens in a new window
Breaking news, commentary, slideshows, and videos covering fashion, trend forecasts, and expert analysis of the fashion and beauty industry

Fashion Journals

Fashion Merchandising Books

Strategic Fashion Management by Ranjit Thind
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781315160344
Publication Date: 2017-11-20
Fashion Branding and Communication by Byoungho Jin (Editor); Elena Cedrola (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781137523433
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Social Media for Fashion Marketing by Wendy K. Bendoni
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781474233323
Publication Date: 2017-03-23
Sustainable fashion empowering African women entrepreneurs in the fashion industry by Moreno-Gavara, Carme
Call Number: HD6072.6.A35 S87 2019
ISBN: 9783319912653
Publication Date: 2019
Fashion Ethics by Sue Thomas
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781315109367
Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Fashion Marketing and Communication by Olga Mitterfellner
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780429451591
Publication Date: 2019-11-14
Digital Luxury : Transforming Brands and Consumer Experiences by Wided Batat
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781526483584
Publication Date: 2019
Marketing fashion footwear : the business of shoes by Armstrong-Gibbs
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781474222310
Publication Date: 2017
Fashion by Allison Taylor
Call Number: NK 4702 >B67 2020
ISBN: 9780789213808
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Digital Research Methods in Fashion and Textile Studies by Amanda Sikarskie
Call Number: TT497 .S57 2020
ISBN: 9781350134478
Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Fashion Journalism by Julie Bradford
Call Number: TT 503.5 .B73 2020
ISBN: 9780815386841
Publication Date: 2019-12-17
Fashion History from the 18th to the 20th Century by Kyoto Costume Institute
Call Number: TT 504.6 .J27 F27 2020
ISBN: 9783836557191
Publication Date: 2015-11-22
Fashion Design by Denis Antoine
Call Number: TT 507 .A668 2020
ISBN: 9781786275769
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Kaiser Karl Life of Karl Lagerfeld by R. Bacque
Call Number: TT 505 .L34 B3313 2020
ISBN: 9781788840705
Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Latest Material and Technological Developments for Activewear by Joanne Yip (Editor)
Call Number: TT 649 .L37 2020
ISBN: 9780128194928
Publication Date: 2020-05-05

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Fashion History from the 18th to the 20th Century by Kyoto Costume Institute
Call Number: TT 504.6 .J27 F27 2020
ISBN: 9783836557191
Publication Date: 2015-11-22
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History by Jill Condra (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313336621
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture by Dale Southerton (Editor)
ISBN: 9780872896017
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
World Clothing and Fashion by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
ISBN: 9781315698045
Publication Date: 2015-03-17
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Valerie Cumming; C. W. Cunnington; P. E. Cunnington
ISBN: 9781847885340
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Fashion by Phyllis G. Tortora; Sandra Keiser; Bina Abling (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781609014896
Publication Date: 2014-01-30