The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible by
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible has been a classic Bible study resource for more than thirty years. Now thoroughly revised, this new five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Beautiful full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a wellrounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. The goal remains the same: to provide pastors, teachers, students, and devoted Bible readers a comprehensive and reliable library of information.* More than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people* More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference* Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs* 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference* Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by the most current body of archaeological research* 238 contributors from around the world
Nelson's Illustrated Bible Dictionary [New and Enhanced Edition by
Nelson's Illustrated Bible Dictionary is the most comprehensive and up-to-date Bible dictionary availableWith a fresh new look and updated photographs, this new and enhanced edition is a wealth of basic study information with more than 7,000 entries plus more than 500 full-color photographs, maps, and pronunciation guides.Features include:Cross-references to major translationsMore than 7,000 up-to-date entriesMore than 500 full-color photographs and mapsEnlarged type size for easier readingVisual Survey of the Bible from The Open Bible
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by
The Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible gathers nearly 5,000 alphabetically ordered articles that thoroughly yet clearly explain all the books, persons, places, and significant terms found in the Bible. The Dictionary also explores the background of each biblical book and related writings and discusses cultural, natural, geographical, and literary phenomena--matters that Bible students at all levels may encounter in reading or discussion. Nearly 600 first-rate Bible authorities have contributed to the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. Intended as a tool for practical Bible use, this illustrated dictionary reflects recent archaeological discoveries and the breadth of current biblical scholarship, including insights from critical analysis of literary, historical, sociological, and other methodological issues. The editorial team has also incorporated articles that explore and interpret important focuses of biblical theology, text and transmission, Near Eastern archaeology, extrabiblical writings, and pertinent ecclesiastical traditions--all of which help make the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible the most comprehensive and up-to-date one-volume Bible dictionary on the market today. Features of the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible: Nearly 5,000 entries explain every book, person, place, significant event, and distinctive term or expression found in the Bible Written by nearly 600 respected authorities in the field of biblical scholarship Includes 112 informative charts and photos and a 12-page section of color maps Supplementary aids include lists of abbreviations, pronunciation guide, transliteration key, and concise bibliographies to guide further research Entries cover the Deuterocanonicals as well as the Hebrew and New Testament scriptures Based on the New Revised Standard version of the Bible, with attention given to alternate readings in other major translations
Ultimate Bible Dictionary by
The Ultimate Bible Dictionary is the perfect tool for those who are beginning to study the Bible. Carefully researched and accessible definitions are designed to provide a quick understanding of a term right up front and then, in many cases, go into more detail for those who want this level of description. The definitions are further enhanced by the large number of colorful maps, photos, and reconstructions of biblical objects placed on the same page spread as the definition they accompany. Carefully researched and accessible definitions Hundreds of colorful maps, photos, and reconstructions Concise trim size that is easy-to-carry Great for personal or group study The optimal size of the Ultimate Bible Dictionary makes it easy-to-carry and easy-to-use in personal study or group activities. This valuable resource will enhance your understanding of the people, places, objects, and events in the Bible for years to come.
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
Christianity Today 1999 Book of the Year Every reader of the Bible has encountered the powerful, comforting and sometimes puzzling imagery of Scripture. These concrete pictures with their hidden force have struck sharp and lasting impressions on our minds. Their imprint has etched itself on the language and grammar of Christian faith and Western culture. Why then do traditional Bible dictionaries and reference works offer so little help to explorers of the Bible's galaxy of verbal pictures? They excel in describing the climate, borders and location of Galilee or Sinai. But they are often blind to the artistic expressions and deaf to the musical meanings that echo from within the world of the biblical text. The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is the first contemporary reference work dedicated to exploring the images, symbols, motifs, metaphors and literary patterns found in the Bible. More than that, it examines the Bible's universal archetypes or master images--including the plot motifs and character types that recur throughout life, literature and the Bible. This unique dictionary explores the dazzling variety in which the Word of God comes dressed in clothes of everyday life. It traces the trail of images from Eden to the New Jerusalem. It captures the plotted patterns of biblical narrative. It surveys the imaged texture of each book of the Bible. In short, The Dictionary of Biblical Imagery is an inviting, enlightening and indispensable companion to the reading, study, contemplation and enjoyment of the Bible.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by
Since 1967, the New Catholic Encyclopedia , cited by Library Journal as one of the top 50 reference sources of the millennium, has been a standard in public, academic and high school libraries worldwide. Prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, the Encyclopedia is the first place you turn when your users have questions on topics such as abortion, divorce, witchcraft and tolerance. Gale, together with The Catholic University of America, is proud to announce a new and updated edition of this multi-volume set -- the first new edition in more than 30 years. This revised edition features contributions from hundreds of scholars from all over the world, under the guidance of Catholic University of America's Reverend Berard Marthaler, O.F.M.Conv. and Gale. Incorporating content from the five supplementary volumes to the first edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia , this new edition also features revised and new articles, bringing the entire encyclopedia up to date. Among the 12,000 entries in the Encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. What impact did Catholicism have on Shakespeare? What role does music play in religious worship? Why is the fish a Christian symbol? What did John Paul II have to do with the fall of Communism in Eastern Europe? What's the difference between the Catholic and Protestant bibles? The only comprehensive source on Catholic teachings, the New Catholic Encyclopedia is the source to consult for answers to questions like these, and hundreds of others. In addition to the hundreds of new signed articles on a wide variety of topics, this new edition also features biographies of contemporary religious figures; thousands of photographs, maps and illustrations; and updated bibliographical citations. The 15th volume is a cumulative index to the entire encyclopedia.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
The most complete coverage of theological topics This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NRSV. Unparalleled quality of information Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. Totally new entries 7100 fresh, original articles. Also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries. Balanced and relevant content For any pastor, rabbi, preacher, teacher, or student who is preparing to serve the congregation. Theological content and thorough discussion of various interpretations is tailored for congregational use. It will become your most trusted companion!
Crossway ESV Bible Atlas by
This groundbreaking, full-color companion to the ESV Bible combines visual appeal with state-of-the-art historical and geographical resources in one user-friendly volume.
Holman Illustrated Guide to Biblical Geography by
Reading the land enables us to read the Bible with greater insight. Though the truths of the Bible transcend time and place, they are rooted in them. Geographical data inform our understanding of activity in the land of the Bible, while the Bible's own description of these events, embedded deeply in the realia of the land itself, helps us better understand the living context in which these events took place. When we develop a skill set that allows us to read the land of the Bible as fluently as we might read the text, we stand not only to gain a better appreciation of the divine-human events of Scripture, we also gain an understanding of how these events become relevant to us in our own particular living contexts. Chapters Include: Exploring the World of the Bible Building Blocks of Biblical Geography The Land of Ancient Israel: The Southern Regions (Judah/Judea) The Land of Ancient Israel: The Central Regions (Israel/Samaria) The Land of Ancient Israel: The Northern Regions (Galilee) Transjordan Afterword: Geography of the Heart Biblical geography has great apologetic value. The biblical writers had to be accurate when presenting geographical material. Unlike some matters of history and doctrine, their assertions about the realities of land forms and climate, or about the relation of one city to another, or about the use of strategic routes could easily be verified both by their first readers as well as by contemporary readers. Verifiable geographic information provides a solid foundation on which to place and evaluate the veracity of other truth claims in the biblical text.
Oxford Bible Atlas by
This new fourth edition of the Oxford Bible Atlas, now with twenty-seven full-color maps and eighty-one color illustrations, has been thoroughly revised to bring it up to date with both the most recent biblical scholarship and the most modern discoveries in archaeology and topography. This authoritative Atlas illuminates the landscape of the biblical world, allowing readers to better understand the geographical context in which the Bible emerged and which formed its background. The colorful, highly accurate maps capture the many ancient locales of the Bible's stories and carefully reflect the successive stages of the Bible's accounts, while specially chosen full-color illustrations bring the countries and their peoples to life. The Atlas covers everything from Genesis to the stories of David and Solomon, the trade routes of the ancient world, the vast empires of Alexander the Great and Rome, and the ministry of Jesus and the formation of the early Church. The accompanying text describes the land of Palestine, and its wider ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean settings. It outlines the successive historical periods, and describes the major civilizations with which Israelites, Jews, and early Christians came into contact. There is also an illustrated survey of the relevance of archaeology for the study of the Bible. Finally, the book includes a full chronology, suggestions for further reading, an index of place names, and a general index. An essential resource for all students of the Bible, the Atlas provides a superb guide to the geography of the Holy Land throughout history, from the Exodus to New Testament times.
Ultimate Bible Atlas by
The Ultimate Bible Atlas is the perfect tool for those who are beginning to study the Bible. Featured are more than 300 maps, charts, photos, and biblical reconstructions illuminating the geographical context of key biblical places and topics. This resource packs an amazing amount of information about the physical context of biblical events, including: Abraham's journeys The miraculous deliverance of Israel from Egypt under Moses's leadership Joshua's conquest of Canaan David's uniting Israel as one nation The division of the Kingdom after the death of Solomon The Babylonian Exile Jesus's birth and childhood Jesus's ministry in Judea, Galilee, and Perea A day-by-day account of Passion Week in Jerusalem The expansion of the early church Paul's missionary journey The optimal size of the Ultimate Bible Atlas makes it easy-to-carry and easy-to-use in personal study or group activities. This valuable resource will enhance your understanding of the places, objects, and events in the Bible for years to come.
Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology by
Explore significant archaeological discoveries pertaining to every book of the Bible. Laypersons, pastors, students, academics, and anyone looking for a current and comprehensive biblical archaeology resource need look no further. The Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology provides a wealth of information that supplements the historical context of the Bible, providing a window into the past that will enhance your understanding and enjoyment of biblical text. Immerse yourself in the world of the Bible and the intertestamental period with these special features: Introduction to the field of archaeology Archaeological discoveries in canonical order The latest photos and information from new discoveries Aerial photos of excavation sites Photos of artifacts and historic structures Sidebars and study helps Robust glossary Detailed maps Bibliography The Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology gives readers the opportunity to visit ancient sites and historical places while remaining in the comfort of their own home.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by 
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by
Edited by Bill T. Arnold and Hugh G. M. Williamson, the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books picks up where the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch left off--with Joshua and Israel poised to enter the land--and carries us through the postexilic period. Following in the tradition of the award-winning IVP dictionaries focused on the New Testament, this encyclopedic work is characterized by in-depth articles focused on key topics, many of them written by noted experts. The history of Israel forms the skeletal structure of the Old Testament. Understanding this history and the biblical books that trace it is essential to comprehending the Bible. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books is the only reference book focused exclusively on these biblical books and the history of Israel. The dictionary presents articles on numerous historical topics as well as major articles focused on the books of Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings, Chronicles, Ezra and Nehemiah. Other articles focus on the Deuteronomistic History as well as the Chronicler''s History, the narrative art of Israel''s historians, innerbiblical exegesis, text and textual criticism, and the emergence of these books as canonical. One feature is a series of eight consecutive articles on the periods of Israel''s history from the settlement to postexilic period, which form a condensed history of Israel within the DOTHB. Syro-Palestinian archaeology is surveyed in one article, while significant archaeological sites receive focused treatment, usually under the names of biblical cities and towns such as Jerusalem and Samaria, Shiloh and Shechem, Dan and Beersheba. Other articles delve into the histories and cultures of the great neighboring empires--Egypt, Assyria, Babylonia and Persia--as well as lesser peoples, such as the Ammonites, Edomites, Moabites, Philistines and Phoenicians. In addition there are articles on architecture, Solomon''s temple, agriculture and animal husbandry, roads and highways, trade and travel, and water and water systems. The languages of Hebrew and Aramaic, as well as linguistics, each receive careful treatment, as well as the role of scribes and their schools, and writing and literacy in ancient Israel and its environs. The DOTHB also canvases the full range of relevant extrabiblical written evidence, with five articles focused on the various non-Israelite written sources as well as articles on Hebrew inscriptions and ancient Near Eastern iconography. Articles on interpretive methods, on hermeneutics and on preaching the Historical Books will assist students and communicators in understanding how this biblical literature has been studied and interpreted, and its proper use in preaching. In the same vein, theological topics such as God, prayer, faith, forgiveness and righteousness receive separate treatment. The history of Israel has long been contested territory, but never more so than today. Much like the quest of the historical Jesus, a quest of the historical Israel is underway. At the heart of the quest to understand the history of Israel and the Old Testament''s Historical Books is the struggle to come to terms with the conventions of ancient historiography. How did these writers conceive of their task and to whom were they writing? Clearly the Old Testament historians did not go about their task as we would today. The divine word was incarnated in ancient culture. Rather than being a dictionary of quick answers and easy resolutions readily provided, the DOTHB seeks to set out the evidence and arguments, allowing a range of informed opinion to enrich the conversation. In this way it is hoped that the DOTHB will not only inform its readers, but draw them into the debate and equip them to examine the evidence for themselves. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings by
Christianity Today Merit Award winner ECPA Gold Medallion The Old Testament books of wisdom and poetry carry themselves differently from those of the Pentateuch, the histories or the prophets. The divine voice does not peal from Sinai, there are no narratives carried along by prophetic interpretation nor are oracles declaimed by a prophet. Here Scripture often speaks in the words of human response to God and God's world. The hymns, laments and thanksgivings of Israel, the dirge of Lamentations, the questionings of Qohelet, the love poetry of the Song of Songs, the bold drama of Job and the proverbial wisdom of Israel all offer their textures to this great body of biblical literature. Then too there are the finely crafted stories of Ruth and Esther that narrate the silent providence of God in the course of Israelite and Jewish lives. This third Old Testament volume in InterVarsity Press's celebrated "Black Dictionary" series offers nearly 150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Over ninety contributors, many of them experts in this literature, have contributed to the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry Writings. This volume maintains the quality of scholarship that students, scholars and pastors have come to expect from this series. Coverage of each biblical book includes an introduction to the book itself as well as separate articles on its ancient Near Eastern background and its history of interpretation. Additional articles amply explore the literary dimensions of Hebrew poetry and prose, including acrostic, ellipsis, inclusio, intertextuality, parallelism and rhyme. And there are well-rounded treatments of Israelite wisdom and wisdom literature, including wisdom poems, sources and theology. In addition, a wide range of interpretive approaches is canvassed in articles on hermeneutics, feminist interpretation, form criticism, historical criticism, rhetorical criticism and social-scientific approaches. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry Writings is sure to command shelf space within arm's reach of any student, teacher or preacher working in this portion of biblical literature. Tremper Longman III and Peter E. Enns edit this collection of 148 articles by 90 contributors on Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by
ECPA Christian Book Award Winner Readers' Choice Award Winner Biblical Foundations Award Winner Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. Since that groundbreaking volume was published, a wave of Jesus and Gospel scholarship has crested and broken on the shores of a new century. Jesus has been proposed as sage, shaman, revolutionary, marginal Jew, Mediterranean peasant or a prophet of Israel's restoration. The non-canonical Gospels have been touted, examined and reassessed. There are revised understandings of historiography, orality, form criticism, empire and more. The second edition of the DJG amply weighs and assess the gains and shortcomings of this new scholarship. Here is a self-contained reference library of information and perspective essential to exploring Jesus and the Gospels. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. Among other benefits, it allows multiple opportunities for each of the Gospels to be weighed and heard in its own voice. Bibliographies are full and up to date, putting readers in touch with the best work in the field. All of this allows the articles to serve as launching pads for further research. When the first edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels was published, it was immediately recognized as an innovative reference work. By taking a particular corpus of biblical books and exploring it with in-depth articles written by specialists in the field, it refashioned a staple reference genre. This dictionary model has now been applied to each segment of the biblical canon in successive volumes. Those who have enjoyed and benefitted from the wealth in the first edition will find the second edition an equally indispensable companion to study and research. Over ninety percent of the articles have been completely rewritten, and the rest thoroughly revised and updated. Here is the doorway into a reliable and comprehensive summary and appraisal of the last twenty years of Jesus scholarship. A new generation of scholars has opened the way to make this a Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels for the twenty-first century. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by
The Dictionary of Paul and His Letters is a one-of-a-kind reference work. No other resource presents as much information focused exclusively on Pauline theology, literature, background, and scholarship. This second edition is a thoroughly revised and updated version of the acclaimed 1993 publication. Since that groundbreaking volume was published, developments in Pauline studies have continued at a rapid pace, with diverse new scholars entering the conversation, new ideas and methods gaining attention, and fresh expressions of old topics shaping the present discussion. Those who enjoyed and benefited from the wealth in the first edition will find this new edition an equally indispensable and freshly up-to-date companion to study and research. Classic topics such as Christology, justification, hermeneutics, and book studies of individual epistles receive careful treatment by specialists in the field. Topics new to this edition--including Paul and politics, patronage, and interpretations from various historical and cultural perspectives--expand the volume's breadth and usefulness. Over 95% of the articles have been written specifically for this edition. This work bridges the gap between scholars and pastors, teachers and students, and all interested readers who want a thorough treatment of key topics in a summary format. In curating and compiling these articles, the editors have sought to make them comprehensive, accessible, and useful for those pursuing further research on particular subjects. Each article's bibliography, in addition, will serve a new generation of readers for years to come. The updated Dictionary of Paul and His Letters takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed., and the other volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series as a unique presentation of the fruit of biblical studies--committed to Scripture, using the best of critical methods, and maintaining dialogue with both contemporary scholarship and the challenges facing the church. The reference volumes in the series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by
Academy of Parish Clergy Top Ten Books of the Year Christianity Today's Books of the Year ECPA Gold Medallion The third of IVP's critically acclaimed series of dictionaries of the New Testament provides focused study on the often-neglected portions of the New Testament: Acts, Hebrews, the General Epistles, and Revelation. Furthermore, its scope goes beyond the life of the New Testament church to include the work of the apostolic fathers and early Christianity up through the middle of the second century. The Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments offers a summa of New Testament studies. Designed to bring students, teachers, pastors, and general readers up to date and up to speed, this one-of-a-kind reference volume presents more information than any other single work--dealing exclusively with the theology, literature, background, and scholarship of the later New Testament and the apostolic church. In-depth, comprehensive articles focus on theological themes, methods of interpretation, background topics, and various other subjects specifically related to the study of New Testament theology and literature. Expert contributors include Darrell Bock, George R. Beasley-Murray, I. Howard Marshall, Ben Witherington III, and James D. G. Dunn. Wide-ranging articles span from the books of James and Jude to household codes, from the Roman emperor cult to gnosticism and docetism, questions of canon to second-century church leaders like Ignatius and Polycarp. The Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels and Dictionary of Paul and His Letters in presenting mature evangelical scholarship--committed to the authority of Scripture, utilizing the best of critical methods, and maintaining a dialogue with contemporary scholarship and the challenges facing the church. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by
ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Works) The Dictionary of New Testament Background joins the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters and the Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments as the fourth in a landmark series of reference works on the Bible. In a time when our knowledge of the ancient Mediterranean world has grown by leaps and bounds, this volume sets out for readers the wealth of Jewish and Greco-Roman background that should inform our reading and understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity. The Dictionary of New Testament Background takes full advantage of the flourishing study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and offers individual articles focused on the most important scrolls. In addition, the Dictionary encompasses the fullness of second-temple Jewish writings, whether pseudepigraphic, rabbinic, parables, proverbs, histories or inscriptions. Articles abound on aspects of Jewish life and thought, including family, purity, liturgy and messianism. The full scope of Greco-Roman culture is displayed in articles ranging across language and rhetoric, literacy and book culture, religion and cults, honor and shame, patronage and benefactors, travel and trade, intellectual movements and ideas, and ancient geographical perspectives. No other reference work presents so much in one place for students of the New Testament. Here an entire library of scholarship is made available in summary form. The Dictionary of New Testament Background can stand alone or work in concert with one or more of its companion volumes in the series. Written by acknowledged experts in their fields, this wealth of knowledge of the New Testament era is carefully aimed at the needs of contemporary students of the New Testament. And its full bibliographies and cross-references to other volumes in the series will make it the first book to reach for in any investigation of the New Testament in its ancient setting. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Holman Illustrated Bible Handbook by
Many people would love to search for truth in the Bible but are intimidated by its size, or the length of time its story spans, or the distance between our day and the cultural settings of the biblical authors, or certain questions about the historical reliability and contemporary relevance of Scripture. The Holman Illustrated Bible Handbook is designed to overcome the obstacles people have to understanding the Bible. It begins with an essay on "How to Read and Study the Bible" and then provides a brief and basic overview of each of the Bible's 66 books: each book's author, main message, evidences of authenticity, and historical context. In addition to the full-color maps, photographs, reconstructions, and charts that equip readers throughout the volume, a smartphone-accessible QR code is included for each chapter that leads to related online teaching from noted Bible scholar Gene Getz.
Zondervan Handbook to the Bible by
Continuously in print since 1973, this fifth edition of the classic Zondervan Handbook to the Bible has been updated with new imagery. From the history and design of the temple in Jerusalem to God's relationship with the universe, you'll find it here. The land, culture, battles, feast days, heroes, and villains of Scripture come alive through spectacular color-filled articles and images of meticulous clarity and detail. Special features include: A four color guide to all the books of the Bible Over 120 articles by an international team of experts More than 700 color photographs, many of them new 68 maps and 20 charts Complete with a comprehensive "Rapid Fact-Finder to the Bible" section, the Zondervan Handbook to the Bible remains the best book to have next to your Bible.
Many publishers offer a series or collection of reference books that are ideal for academic projects. These materials are generally identified by the publisher's name, and then terms like companion, handbook, or guide, in their title. They offer in-depth essays on special subjects, with contributions by leading scholars in that field.
Try searching the main JFL page for these types of reference books, using some of the following search strings. For this example, we are searching for Hermeneutics as our topic of interest. We could also search for Interpretation or another similar subject term.
Start with a new Book search on the main page. Simply copy the model and then insert your new search term in place of hermeneutics. Note that these series or collections tend to overlap between religion and philosophy titles.
title:(Blackwell AND (companion OR handbook OR guide)) hermeneutics
title:(Cambridge AND (companion OR guide OR history OR encyclopedia OR dictionary)) hermeneutics
title:(Oxford AND (companion OR handbook OR guide OR encyclopedia OR dictionary)) hermeneutics
title:(Routledge AND (companion OR handbook OR guide OR guidebook OR dictionary)) hermeneutics
title:(T & T Clark AND (companion OR handbook)) hermeneutics [and try without spaces between T&T]
Another way to find this kind of material is to use the ATLA Religion database (by EBSCO). Enter in your search terms as usual, but then select the Essays option on the left side, under the Source Types limiter. This database will find scholarly essays (i.e., chapters) within the major handbooks and companions. From here, track down the book or e-book, or request a scan of the chapter through the library's inter-library loan services.
Not every resource will have the publisher in the title (e.g., some Companions do not). Also try a search for Anthology, Readers/Readings, Elements, or Very Short Introductions, along with your search terms.
Within the field of Biblical Studies, there are several well-known series that offer exceptional scholarly treatment on various topics. These items will appear on normal book searches, based on their relevance to your subject terms. They can also be searched for directly, by adding the series title to the general search. When citing from these in a paper, be sure to consult chapter 8 of the SBL Handbook for the standardized abbreviations for the various series, and also consult section 6.2.24 (on p. 90) for the accepted formatting guides when referencing in a footnote or bibliography.
The following is just a sampling of several very helpful academic series that provide advanced research material and demonstrate a depth of bibliographic coverage in your writing projects.
