Students researching in the original Greek and Hebrew text of Scripture will want to consult several of these language tools.
Lexicons are like dictionaries; they briefly define the words and offer a semantic domain for possible uses. Theological Dictionaries are more expansive; they offer an extended treatment of the word and its theological use.
Please note that not every language tool is available online at this time.
However, requests can be made through Inter Library Loan for specific sections of the language tools. Just provide the library with the particular Greek or Hebrew word under study, and a librarian can scan that section and email it to you.
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by
Described as an "invaluable reference work" (Classical Philology) and "a tool indispensable for the study of early Christian literature" (Religious Studies Review) in its previous edition, this new updated American edition of Walter Bauer's Wörterbuch zu den Schriften des Neuen Testaments builds on its predecessor's staggering deposit of extraordinary erudition relating to Greek literature from all periods. Including entries for many more words, the new edition also lists more than 25,000 additional references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature. In this edition, Frederick W. Danker's broad knowledge of Greco-Roman literature, as well as papyri and epigraphs, provides a more panoramic view of the world of Jesus and the New Testament. Danker has also introduced a more consistent mode of reference citation, and has provided a composite list of abbreviations to facilitate easy access to this wealth of information. Perhaps the single most important lexical innovation of Danker's edition is its inclusion of extended definitions for Greek terms. For instance, a key meaning of "episkopos" was defined in the second American edition as overseer; Danker defines it as "one who has the responsibility of safeguarding or seeing to it that something is done in the correct way, guardian." Such extended definitions give a fuller sense of the word in question, which will help avoid both anachronisms and confusion among users of the lexicon who may not be native speakers of English. Danker's edition of Bauer's Wörterbuch will be an indispensable guide for Biblical and classical scholars, ministers, seminarians, and translators.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis by
A widely-used and beloved reference work for nearly 40 years, the New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis (NIDNTTE) has been thoroughly revised and updated to aid today's pastors, students, scholars, and teachers in their study of the New Testament. Offering a wealth of background and information on the meaning of Greek words in the New Testament-as well as related usage in classical Greek sources, the Septuagint, Jewish literature, and more-this important tool offers the following features: Alphabetical arrangement according to Greek words to ensure that individual Greek words are not discussed in isolation from one another and are easy to access Additional Greek words and concepts not covered in the original work, it offers nearly 800 entries covering over 3,000 Greek words Discussions revised to be in line with modern scholarship and updated bibliographies Updated and added consistency to include-for every entry-all necessary background information from classical Greek, the LXX, and Jewish literature. A helpful semantic domain index now directs the reader to all of the Greek words that have something to do with a particular English word and much more!
Theological Lexion of the New Testament by
For over a century, "Thayer's" has been lauded as one of the best New Testament lexicons available. Both accessible and thorough, it is a work suited for the student of New Testament Greek. "Thayer's" provides dictionary definitions for each word and relates each word to its New Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. Its exhaustive coverage of New Testament Greek words, as well as its extensive quotation of extra-biblical word usage and the wealth of background sources consulted and quoted, render "Thayer's" an invaluable resource.
A Greek-English Lexicon by
Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (9/e 1940) is the most comprehensive and up-to-date ancient Greek dictionary in the world. It is used by every student of ancient Greek in the English-speaking world, and is an essential library and scholarly purchase there and in W. Europe and Japan.The main dictionary covers every surviving ancient Greek author and text discovered up to 1940, from the Pre-Classical Greek of the 11C - 8C BC (for example Homer and Hesiod), through Classical Greek (7C - 5C BC) to the Hellenistic Period, including the Greek Old and New Testaments.Entries list irregular inflections, and together with the definition, each sense includes citations from Greek authors illustrating usage.The Lexicon is Greek into English only, as are other ancient Greek dictionaries. This is the market expectation among both students and scholars.In 1968 the Lexicon was updated with a Supplement, which was available as a separate volume (until 1992) or bound together with the dictionary.Representing the culmination of 13 years' work, the new Revised Supplement is a complete replacement for the 1968 Supplement. Nearly twice the size of the 1968 edition, with over 20,000 entries, it adds to the dictionary words and forms from papyri and inscriptions discovered between 1940 and the1990s as well as a host of other revisions, updatings, and corrections to the main dictionary. Linear B forms are shown within entries for the first time, and the Revised Supplement gives the dictionary a date-range from 1200 BC to 600 AD. It is fully cross-referenced to the main text butadditions have been designed to be easily used without constant reference to the main text.
The Cambridge Greek Lexicon by
The Cambridge Greek Lexicon is based upon principles differing from those of existing Greek lexica. Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used, thus giving fresh insights into aspects of Greek language and culture. The editors have systematically re-examined the source material (including that which has been discovered since the end of the nineteenth century) and have made use of the most recent textual and philological scholarship. The Lexicon, which has been twenty years in the making, is written by an editorial team based in the Faculty of Classics in Cambridge, consisting of Professor James Diggle (Editor-in-Chief), Dr Bruce Fraser, Dr Patrick James, Dr Oliver Simkin, Dr Anne Thompson, and Mr Simon Westripp.
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament by
Volume 3---The English translation of the three-volume Exegetisches W rterbuch zum Neuen Testament, this monumental work by an ecumenical group of scholars is first of all a complete English dictionary of New Testament Greek. Going beyond that, however EDNT also serves as a guide to the usage of every New Testament word in its various contexts, and it makes a significant contribution to New Testament exegesis and theology. EDNT's thorough, lengthy discussions of more significant words and its grouping of words related by root and meaning (with alphabetical cross-references) distinguish it from simpler Greek-English lexicons. Advancing the discussion of the Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament, EDNT summarizes more recent treatments of numerous questions in New Testament study and takes into consideration newer viewpoints of linguistics.
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis by
Only one hermeneutical text published prior to the New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis can be held up reasonably to its measure of quality and the exhaustive nature of the research that produced this immense work. That singular collection worthy of comparison is its counterpart, the New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology, edited by Colin Brown. This 5 volume addition to that acclaimed work, though intimidating in the achievement it embodies, is intended for serious Old Testament and exegetical study by men and women of all walks of life -- both academics and pastors, students and laypersons. Volume one contains a Guide to Old Testament Theology and Exegesis in which ten essays have been compiled to thoroughly explain proper hermeneutics and interpretation, as well as guidelines for using this source material. Volumes one through four contain the Lexicon of the Old Testament, all words found in the text ordered by Hebrew alphabetization for easy reference, and coupled with a Goodrick / Kohlenberger cross-referencing number to be used in conjunction with Strong's numbering system. The relationship of each word in different contexts and languages is also explained, including alternative words, and the particulars of their semantic domain. All this information is, of course, complete with bibliography. Volume four also begins the Topical Dictionary. Therein can be found articles on the theology of each Old Testament book individually, as well as discussion of biblical concepts, people, places, events, and literary pieces, all information that is cross-referenced to the preceding Hebraic Lexicon. Finally, volume five contains a series of indexes: Hebrew Index, Scripture Index, Subject Index, and an index of Semantic Fields. Taken as a whole, the New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis is an unparalleled accomplishment in the field of biblical hermeneutics.
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by
A trio of eminent Old Testament scholars, Francis Brown, R. Driver, and Charles Briggs, spent over twenty years researching, writing, and preparing this lexicon. Since it first appeared in the early part of the twentieth century, BDB has been considered the finest and most comprehensive Hebrew lexicon available to the English-speaking student. Based upon the classic work of Wilhelm Gesenius, the "father of modern. Hebrew lexicography," BDB gives not only dictionary definitions for each word, but relates each word to its Old Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. BDB's exhaustive coverage of Old Testament Hebrew words, as well as its unparalleled usage of cognate languages and the wealth of background sources consulted and quoted, render BDB and invaluable resource for all students of the Bible.
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by
An indispensable and incomparable reference work, this translation of the "Theologisches Handworterbuch zum Alten Testament" makes accessible for the first time in English a wealth of theological insight. In these volumes outstanding scholars provide in-depth and wide-ranging investigations of the historical, semantic, and theological meanings of Old Testament concepts. Well-organized and clearly written articles analyze a significant portion of the Old Testament vocabulary. This reference work can serve a wide audience, from professors and researchers to pastors and students of the Bible. Even readers with little or no knowledge of Hebrew can use it profitably. Whereas traditional lexicons do little more than offer possible translations in the light of etymological and grammatical evidence, "The Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament" goes further, evaluating each term's theological relevance by clearly describing its actual usage in the language. In the process, it makes available to readers in many form- and tradition-critical insights hitherto buried in scattered commentaries, monographs, Old Testament theologies, journal articles, etc. Thus the individual articles serve as concise, well-structured histories of research with conclusions, discussion of controversies, and references to the most important literature. The methodological repertoire of the "TLOT" is deliberately broad because today it is generally agreed that no single approach can fully illuminate a term's meaning. Assumptions that led to ill-advised short-cuts--e.g., the chimera of a basic meaning from which all other meanings developed--have given way to a methodological pluralism, that considers a term's significance from several points of view and thus does more justice to actual usage. Words were included because of their importance within the Hebrew Bible, not their suitability as elements of a secondary system of Old Testament theology. Since the entries are generally ordered according to roots--the traditional and sensible approach for Semitic languages--and many words are treated as derivatives, synonyms, or antonyms of the terms listed in the article titles, thousands of words can be considered in about 330 articles. These other words can easily be found in the index. Besides examining the key verbs, nouns, and adjectives, the "TLOT" examines theologically noteworthy pronouns and particles in their own entries. "Like a diamond, highly prized for its fine cut, sparkle, setting, durability, utility, and symbolism, Jenni-Westermann's Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament has enormous value for a variety of reasons. Its rich data range from the historical to the theological, from the earliest occurrence of a particular word to its post-biblical use, from its distribution in the canon to its attestation in other literature from the ancient Near East, from its grammatical and syntactical peculiarities to its religious nuance. The contributors retain their individual perspectives, which give freshness and excitement to the whole. I have long wished for an English translation of this important work so that my divinity students would have access to it. Now, thanks to Hendrickson Publishers, that whish has been granted." --James L. Crenshaw, Robert L. Flowers Professor of Old Testament, Duke University
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by
This multivolume work is still proving to be as fundamental to Old Testament studies as its companion set, the Kittel-Friedrich "Theological Dictionary of the New Testament," has been to New Testament studies.The "TDOT" volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Leading scholars of various religious traditions (including Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Greek Orthodox, and Jewish) and from many parts of the world (Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States) have been carefully selected for each article by editors Botterweck, Ringgren, and Fabry and their consultants, George W. Anderson, Henri Cazelles, David Noel Freedman, Shemaryahu Talmon, and Gerhard Wallis.The intention of the writers is to concentrate on "meaning," starting from the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. To avoid artificially restricting the focus of the articles, "TDOT" considers under each keyword the larger groups of words that are related linguistically or semantically. The lexical work includes detailed surveys of a word's occurrences, not only in biblical material but also in other ancient Near Eastern writings. Sumerian, Akkadian, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Ugaritic, and Northwest Semitic sources are surveyed, among others, as well as the Qumran texts and the Septuagint; and in cultures where no cognate word exists, the authors often consider cognate ideas."TDOT'"s emphasis, though, is on Hebrew terminology and on biblical usage. The contributors employ philology as well as form-critical and traditio-historical methods, with the aim of understanding the religious statements in the Old Testament. Extensive bibliographical information adds to the value of this reference work.This English edition attempts to serve the needs of Old Testament students without the linguistic background of more advanced scholars; it does so, however, without sacrificing the needs of the latter. Ancient scripts (Hebrew, Greek, etc.) are regularly transliterated in a readable way, and meanings of foreign words are given in many cases where the meanings might be obvious to advanced scholars. Where the Hebrew text versification differs from that of English Bibles, the English verse appears in parentheses. Such features will help all earnest students of the Bible to avail themselves of the manifold theological insights contained in this monumental work."
A Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by
Based on the First, Second, and Third Editions of the Koehler-Baumgartner Lexicon in Veteris Testamenti Libros, this abridgment--which eliminates bibliographical references and technical information intended for specialists and judiciously trims biblical citations--provides everything the student needs to translate an Old Testament passage.
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by
For busy yet serious students of the Old Testament This extensive scholarly work includes discussions of every Hebrew word of theological significance in the Old Testament, plus brief definitions of all other words found in the Brown-Driver-Briggs (BDB) Hebrew Lexicon. Keyed to Strong's Concordance, the Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament has been a longtime favorite of serious students of the Bible--pastors and laypeople alike. The busy pastor or earnest Christian worker who has neither the time nor the background for detailed technical study, yet desires to understand important terms, will enjoy this practical resource. There are more than 1,400 articles written by 43 Old Testament scholars, plus some 400 sub-entries giving definitions only. The articles focus on theological meanings of importance and do not include lengthy, technical, linguistic discussions. Virtually exhaustive bibliographies of published material relating to the words discussed are also included, as is a special section of Aramaic words used in the Old Testament. The new edition of this monumental reference work combines two volumes into one, now making it even easier to use.
There are several academic series that address lexicography or language studies.
Studies in Biblical Greek
Linguistic Biblical Studies
Biblical Interpretation Series
Essentials of Biblical Greek Grammar
Linguistic Studies in Ancient West Semitic
Oxford Studies in Theoretical Linguistics
Septuagint and Cognate Studies
Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zum Neuen Testament (WUNT)
Below are just some samples of key series to investigate when doing advanced language studies.
A History of New Testament Lexicography by
New Testament lexicons of today are comprehensive, up-to-date, and authoritative. Behind them lies a tradition dating back to the sixteenth century, whose characteristics are not well known. Besides giving a history of this tradition, A History of New Testament Lexicographydemonstrates its less satisfactory features, notably its dependence on predecessors, the influence of translations, and its methodological shortcomings. John A. L. Lee not only criticizes the existing tradition, but stimulates thought on new goals that New Testament lexicography needs to set for itself in the twenty-first century. This book caters to the non-specialist as well as those interested in philological detail.
Verbal Aspect in the Book of Revelation: the Function of Greek Verb Tenses in John S Apocalypse by
Drawing on recent research into verbal aspect in New Testament Greek by Stanley E. Porter, Buist M. Fanning and others, this work addresses the issue of verb tenses in the book of Revelation and how they function within its visions and discourse.
Paul's Language of Zelos: Monosemy and the Rhetoric of Identity and Practice by 
Voice and Mood (Essentials of Biblical Greek Grammar) by
A recognized expert in Greek grammar examines two features of the Greek verb: voice and mood. Drawing on his years of teaching experience at a leading seminary, David Mathewson examines these two important topics in Greek grammar in light of modern linguistics and offers fresh insights. The book is illustrated with examples from the Greek New Testament, making it an ideal textbook for the intermediate Greek classroom. This is the first volume in a new series on Greek grammar edited by Stanley E. Porter.
Phonology and Morphology of Biblical Hebrew by
More than 80 years have passed since Bauer and Leander's historical grammar of Biblical Hebrew was published, and many advances in comparative historical grammar have been made during the interim. Joshua Blau, who has for much of his life been associated with the Academy of the Hebrew Language in Jerusalem, has during the past half century studied, collected data, and written frequently on various aspects of the Hebrew language. Phonology and Morphology of Biblical Hebrew had its origins in an introduction to Biblical Hebrew first written some 40 years ago; it has now been translated from Modern Hebrew, thoroughly revised and updated, and it distills a lifetime of knowledge of the topic. The book begins with a 60-page introduction that locates Biblical Hebrew in the Semitic family of languages. It then discusses various approaches to categorization and classification, introduces and discusses various linguistic approaches and features that are necessary to the discussion, and provides a background to the way that linguists approach a language such as Biblical Hebrew--all of which will be useful to students who have taken first-year Hebrew as well those who have studied Biblical Hebrew extensively but have not been introduced to linguistic study of the topic. After a brief discussion of phonetics, the main portion of the book is devoted to phonology and to morphology. In the section on phonology, Blau provides complete coverage of the consonant and vowel systems of Biblical Hebrew and of the factors that have affected both systems. In the section on morphology, he discusses the parts of speech (pronouns, verbs, nouns, numerals) and includes brief comments on the prepositions and waw. The historical processes affecting each feature are explained as Blau progresses through the various sections. The book concludes with a complete set of paradigms and extensive indexes. Blau's recognized preeminence as a Hebraist and Arabist as well as his understanding of language change have converged in the production of this volume to provide an invaluable tool for the comparative and historical study of Biblical Hebrew phonology and morphology.
The following language tools are available online through the JFL collection.
Many of these tools are considered popular level, as opposed to the standard scholarly resources pictured above. Other items here are simply earlier versions, or abridgements, of the more academic and up-to-date materials. For scans of the more academic resources, please send a request to the Interlibrary Loan service for the entry on your particular Greek or Hebrew Word.
The Concise Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by
Frederick William Danker, a world-renowned scholar of New Testament Greek, is widely acclaimed for his 2000 revision of Walter Bauer's A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. With more than a quarter of a million copies in print, it is considered the finest dictionary of its kind. Danker's Concise Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament will prove to be similarly invaluable to ministers, seminarians, translators, and students of biblical Greek. Unlike other lexica of the Greek New Testament, which give only brief glosses for headwords, The Concise Greek-English Lexicon offers extended definitions or explanations in idiomatic English for all Greek terms. Each entry includes basic etymological information, short renderings, information on usage, and plentiful biblical references. Greek terms that could have different English definitions, depending on context, are thoughtfully keyed to the appropriate passages. An overarching aim of The Concise Greek-English Lexicon is to assist the reader in recognizing the broad linguistic and cultural context for New Testament usage of words. The Concise Greek-English Lexicon retains all the acclaimed features of A Greek-English Lexicon in a succinct and affordable handbook, perfect for specialists and nonspecialists alike.
Complete Expository Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words by
For years, Vine's Expository Dictionary has been the standard word study tool for pastors and laypeople, selling millions of copies. But sixty-plus years of scholarship have shed extensive new light on the use of biblical Greek and Hebrew, creating the need for a new, more accurate, more thorough dictionary of Bible words. William Mounce, whose Greek grammar has been used by more than 100,000 college and seminary students, is the editor of this new dictionary, which will become the layperson's gold standard for biblical word studies. Mounce's is ideal for the reader with limited or no knowledge of Greek or Hebrew who wants greater insight into the meanings of biblical words to enhance Bible study. It is also the perfect reference for busy pastors needing to quickly get at the heart of a word's meaning without wading through more technical studies. What makes Mounce's superior to Vine's? The most accurate, in-depth definitions based on the best of modern evangelical scholarship Both Greek and Hebrew words are found under each English entry (Vine's separates them) Employs both Strong's and G/K numbering systems (Vine's only uses Strong's) Mounce's accuracy is endorsed by leading scholars
New International Encyclopedia of Bible Words by
Uncover the Rich Meaning Behind the Hebrew and Greek Words of the Bible Whether you're a pastor, a student, or simply a lover of the Bible, this book helps you get more out of God's Word by revealing the original meanings of key biblical words. The reader-friendly, narrative style makes it easy to explore the Hebrew and Greek words that lie behind the English words. You'll discover significant shades of meaning and nuances that bring depth to your understanding of Scripture. This highly accessible reference tool surpasses the well-known Vine's Expository Dictionary of New Testament Words in a number of ways: Thorough coverage of both Old and New Testaments gives you a firm grasp of the entire Bible. The Goodrick/Kohlenberger numbering system allows for more accurate identification of Hebrew and Greek words. Top evangelical scholarship ensures current insights into the meanings of words. Biblical concepts are fully discussed, providing you with understanding, but also practical and devotional insights you can apply to your life. Entry words are taken from the NIV (New International Version) and the NASB (New American Standard Bible)--respectively, the best-selling contemporary translation and today's most literal word-for-word translation. Major KJV terms are cross-referenced to broaden your understanding of translational nuances and distinctions. Four indexes include: Hebrew words, Greek words, Scripture references, and topical index. --ZONDERVAN'S UNDERSTAND THE BIBLE REFERENCE SERIES-- This four-volume series supplies users of today's most popular modern Bible translation, and New International Version, with scholarly, economical, and uncompromisingly evangelical study tools. It includes: New International Bible Commentary New International Encyclopedia of Bible Words New International Encyclopedia of Bible Difficulties New International Encyclopedia of Bible Characters
A New Reader's Lexicon of the Greek New Testament by
This new reference work improves on earlier works and, in canonical order, lists all words occurring fewer than 50 times. In addition to providing the word's definition, this indispensable tool includes the number of times a word occurs in a particular author's writings alongside the number of times a word is used in a given book of the New Testament.
Manual Greek Lexicon of the New Testament by
The classic Greek lexicon which has proved invaluable to generations of Greek Testament students and scholars.It provides for each New Testament word its derivation, the Hebrew it represents if found in the Septuagint, its original and derived meanings with illustrations from biblical, classical and modern Greek, the general sense in which it is used in the papyri, its grammatical constructions, and references to other works in which it is discussed. There are also appendices of the irregular verbs of the Greek New Testament, and an alphabetical list of verbal forms.
The following websites offer helpful Bible study tools for personal and devotional use, and even some helps with the original languages.
When writing papers for LU research projects, be sure understand what level of resource is required.
For example, a first-year introduction to the Bible course may allow for the older or popular-level lexicons like those found in these public access webpages. However, upper-level and graduate courses will require the more scholarly versions (pictured in the boxes above).
Also consider looking up the selected term in an exegetical commentary, available through the JFL online catalog. These commentaries often provide a summary of the word from the typical lexicons.
