This course research guide is intended to help you with your BIBL 410 course assignments (discussion boards and interpretive questions) by providing general directions for using the library and its resources, and by pointing you to recommended resources.
The page is organized by the format of the information sources you may need:
There is a final section, "Citations," to assist you in correctly citing the information sources you use.
As you begin, please refer to your assignment instructions and announcements from your instructor to be certain you use the appropriate resources. You also want to be aware of materials you are not allowed to use, such as Wikipedia, blogs, etc.
Please feel free to contact me if you need additional assistance.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by These resources are ideal for providing an overview of key terms and concepts. Not only do they orient you to a topic, but they can also lead you to additional resources.
The Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament is only available in print; however, you can gain access to content within this resource by using the library's Interlibrary Loan service. Select articles can be scanned and delivered to you digitally. Please note: be sure to allow sufficient time to have requests processed. It can take up to several days to receive scanned documents.
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Pentateuch (E-Book) by To locate books and e-books on Genesis, including commentaries, click on "Books" under "Finding Resources" on the library webpage. Then click on the boxes next to "Print" and "Audiobook." The box next to "E-book" should be the only one checked.
The best approach to finding books is to isolate the authoritative subject used for your topic. Although the search "Genesis commentaries" will yield some relevant titles, using the established subject, Bible. Genesis--Commentaries in the search box will ensure you retrieve the most relevant titles. By clicking the subject link in the records, you receive similar titles. Think of the subject link as a "Get More Like This Book" feature.
As you look through the results, be on the lookout for noted scholars (Arnold, Brueggemann, Hamilton, Matthews, Waltke, Walton, etc.) and reputable publishers (B&H, Baker, Eerdmans, IVP, Zondervan, etc.).
Please note: because of publisher restrictions, immediate access to e-books is not guaranteed.
The New Interpreter's Bible by 
Genesis 1-11: A Handbook on the Hebrew Text by The premier database for locating religious and theological journal article content is Atla Religion Serials Plus.
This database has a unique Scripture index that allows you to quickly locate relevant articles on a biblical text down to the verse. It is found on the far-left side of the screen, at the very bottom of the Research tools.
Another tactic is to search for the biblical book of John by using a special EBSCO code of "Bible. John" and then add in a second search line with "I am". Both have quote marks to search for the full phrase inside the quoted area. The code of <bible. X> is the special ATLA code for limiting to the biblical book of John, as opposed to an article written by someone named John.
Next, add in any desired filters. These include options such as: peer review, full text, date or range of publication, English language, source type as journal articles only, and so on. Use the All Filters button just under the search box and then select as needed.
Here are a few other sample searches in Atla to help you become familiar with the database and structuring searches:
Always cite your sources, whether you summarize, paraphrase, or directly quote them. Plagiarism is a serious academic offense with serious consequences. Use the links below to help you create accurate citations.
Many online resources, including Atla Religion, provide citation generators; however, these citations are machine-generated and must always be verified against the style manual.
