Resources for quick definitions of major theological terms. These books will help students to understand the language of theology, and to identify how theological expressions are being used in academic writing.
Pocket Dictionary of Theological Terms by
Beginning to study theology is like stepping into a conversation that has been going on for two thousand years. How do you take part in this conversation--or even make sense of it--if you don't understand the vocabulary or know the contributions made by other participants? The Pocket Dictionary of Theological Terms is the perfect companion to your theological studies. Among its three hundred-plus definitions are English terms, from accomodation to wrath of God foreign terms, from a posteriori to via media theological movements and traditions, from the Alexandrian School to Wesleyanism theologians, from Anselm of Canterbury to Ulrich Zwingli Here is an affordable and easily accessible resource for your theological readings, lectures and writing assignments. It's a must-have for every beginning theological student! Designed for students and pastors alike, the short and accessible volumes in the IVP Pocket Reference Series will help you tackle the study of biblical languages, church history, apologetics, world religions, Christian spirituality, ethics, theology, and more.
The Concise Dictionary of Christian Theology (Revised Edition) by
Seeks to bring the original dictionary up-to-date by supplementing it with pertinent ideas and biographies from the past fifteen years, with an emphasis on the historical figures and movements of the first nineteen centuries of Christianity.
A Concise Dictionary of Theological Terms by
With more than 700 definitions for theological words and phrases from "Abrahamic covenant" to "Zwinglian view of the Lord's Supper," A Concise Dictionary of Theological Terms helps readers master the foundational language of the Christian faith. Unique in its format, grouping related words together to promote overall comprehension, this is an essential resource for Christians who want to understand unfamiliar terms or gain more in-depth knowledge of key theological concepts.
Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words by
Reach for almost any commentary or other Bible study text and sooner or later (probably sooner!) you're bound to stumble over a word you don't know. Unfortunately, the dictionary doesn't shed much light on terms such as agraphon, deutero-Isaiah, pretribulationism, synonymous parallelism, Transjordan, or zugoth. Even words you are able to look up can have specific nuances and applications in biblical and theological study. What you need is a study book to help you understand the study books. You need the Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words.This hugely practical volume puts the definitions you need most right at your fingertips. Over 1,700 words and phrases from Old and New Testament studies, biblical languages, and systematic theology have been compiled, alphabetized, and defined as succinctly as possible. You'll never be left scratching your head again. The Zondervan Dictionary of Bible and Theology Words is destined to become a staple reference tool for pastors, Sunday school teachers, and everyone with an interest in learning more about the Bible and theology. The more you study the Bible, the more you'll appreciate having this unique resource in your library.
What exactly is Theological Method and what does it mean to 'do theology'?
These resources can help with defining the Task of theology.
A Practical Primer on Theological Method by
Around a table sit men and women with distinct roles: The Interpreter, the Theologian, the Virtuous, the Philosopher, the Scientist, the Artist, the Minister, and the Historian. Each is ready to engage in a passionate discussion centered on God, his works, and his ways. Regardless of which role you play at the same table, you're invited. You simply need to pull up a chair and join the conversation. But how What do you say when you take your seat Where do you start What are the "rules" of the dialogue A Practical Primer on Theological Method will help you answer these questions. This primer is not only a "how-to" manual for doing theology, but a handbook of etiquette for doctrinal discussions with other believers. This popular-level introductory text presents the proper manner, mode, and means of engaging fruitfully in theology.
To Know and Love God by
For beginners and advanced students alike, it deals with the nature of theology and presents a method for doing theology whose goal is both knowledge and wisdom. A volume in the Foundations of Evangelical Theology series.
Who Needs Theology? by
To many Christians theology is something alien, overly intellectual and wholly unappealing. Even seminary students are known to balk at the prospect of a course on theology. Yet theology--most simply, the knowledge of God--is essential to the life and health of the church. In this short introduction, Stanley Grenz and Roger Olson, two theologians who care deeply about the witness of ordinary Christians and the ministry of the church, show what theology is, what tools theology uses, why every believer (advanced degrees or not) is a theologian, and how the theological enterprise can be productive and satisfying. Their clear, easily understood book is ideal for students, church study groups, and individual Christians who want to strengthen understanding, belief and commitment by coming to know God more fully.
A Little Book for New Theologians by
Whenever we read, think, hear or say anything about God, we are doing theology. Yet theology isn't just a matter of what we think. It affects who we are.In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke's A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology for newcomers to the field. He highlights the value and importance of theological study and explains its unique nature as a serious discipline.Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and lively primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more."Theology is about life," writes Kapic. "It is not a conversation our souls can afford to avoid."
Theologians You Should Know by
Reeves helps modern readers see that the lives and thought of important theologians from the past are still relevant today, shaping what we believe and how we live as Christians.
The Great Theologians by
Who are the church's great theologians? What was special about their teaching? What can we learn from them today? Gerald McDermott has written this book for those who want a solid introduction that is challenging, but not overwhelming. Provocative but satisfying. And not too long. McDermott not only informs us about eleven pivotal theologians from Origen to von Balthasar, but helps us sort out what is of continuing value today. With study questions at the end of each chapter, this book is perfect for small groups to go through together. As you do, you'll explore your shared theological history and uncover more about what and why you believe. Here's your chance to think with "the greats" about God.
The History of Christian Thought by
Why read about the history of Christian thought?Because, if you are Christian yourself, it helps you to understand the faith--addressing everything from where Christians got their ideas of the Trinity and how Christ can be both human and divine to what they think about issues like feminism, globalization and social justice.And because, even if you are not, all Western society has been shaped by the influence of thinkers like Augustine, Aquinas and Luther. You can't understand the world as it is without knowing something about Christian thought.Jonathan Hill has the uncanny ability to sketch portraits of his subjects--whether early church apologists, medieval doctors of the church, Reformation giants, nineteenth-century philosophical behemoths or contemporary feminist scholars--that are simultaneously lively, brief and revealing. Similarly, he ably penetrates to the nub of their thought, combining apt description with pithy quotations from their work.Significant events, councils, movements and terms are introduced and explained, which put the cast of characters in context and illumine their place within the development of Christian thought. Not content to merely describe, Hill offers pertinent assessments that highlight the strengths and weaknesses of his subjects' contributions to Christian thinking and spurs you to reflect on significant issues for yourself.A society with no grasp of its history is like a person without a memory. So Hill, in this lively and accessible introduction, offers you a wealth of insight on the history of Christian thought and the colorful personalities of those who gave it shape and form.
Biographical Dictionary of Christian Theologians by
This is a paperbound reprint of a 2000 work (Greenwood Publishers). Approximately 100 scholars contributed biographies for this reference to the lives and thought of more than 450 Christian theologians. In general, the sketches provide a summary of the person's education and career and then supply a
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
These Systematic Theology textbooks represent a variety of theological perspectives, doctrinal commitments, and denominational points of view. These also make great reference books for detailed study into many theological topics. When using these resources, we recommend comparing the discussions of 4 or more systematics. Look for the different approaches to same topic, the use of historical theology, the use of exegetical or philosophical arguments, whether they give some practical applications, whether they address contemporary cultural issues, etc.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
The Theological Dictionaries listed below offer extended treatment of key theological terminology, various doctrinal perspectives, and major theologians.
New Dictionary of Theology by
This classic one-volume reference work has been appreciated for decades. It is now substantially expanded and revised to focus on a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements. From African Christian Theology to Zionism, this volume of historical and systematic theology offers a wealth of information and insight for students, pastors and all thoughtful Christians.Over half of the more than eight hundred articles are new or rewritten with hundreds more thoroughly revised. Fully one-third larger than its predecessor, this volume focusing on systematic and historical theology has added entries and material on theological writers and themes in North America and around the world. Helpful bibliographies have also been updated throughout.Over three hundred contributors form an international team of renowned scholars including Marcella Altaus-Reid, Richard Bauckham, David Bebbington, Kwame Bediako, Todd Billings, Oliver Crisp, Samuel Escobar, John Goldingay, Tremper Longman III, John McGuckin, Jennifer McNutt, Michael J. Nasir-Ali, Bradley Nassif, Mark Noll, Anthony Thiselton, John Webster and N. T. Wright.This new edition combines excellence in scholarship with a high standard of clarity and profound insight into current theological issues. Yet it avoids being unduly technical. Now an even more indispensable reference, this volume is a valuable primer and introduction to the grand spectrum of theology.
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
This thoroughly updated and substantially revised edition of a standard reference tool offers today's students cutting-edge overviews of key theological topics.
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
The New Dictionary of Biblical Theology will quickly establish itself as an essential building block of every library of basic biblical reference books. Building on its companion volumes, the New Bible Dictionary and New Bible Commentary, this work takes readers to a higher vantage point where they can view the thematic terrain of the Bible in its canonical wholeness. In addition, it fills the interpretive space between those volumes and the New Dictionary of Theology. At the heart of this work is an A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture. Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology.
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by
This groundbreaking reference tool introduces key names, theories, and concepts for interpreting Scripture.
The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology by
Covering everything from ?Abba? to ?Zwingli,? The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology offers a comprehensive account of a wide sweep of topics and thinkers in Christian theology. Written entirely by eminent scholar Anthony Thiselton, the book features a coherence lacking in most multiauthored volumes. Drawing on his encyclopedic knowledge, gained from fifty-plus years of study and teaching, Thiselton provides some six hundred articles on various aspects of theology throughout the centuries. The entries comprise both short descriptive surveys and longer essays of original assessment on central theological topics -- such as atonement, Christology, God, and Holy Spirit -- and on such theologians as Aquinas, Augustine, Barth, Calvin, K�ng, Luther, Moltmann, and Pannenberg. The book also includes a helpful time chart dating all of the theologians discussed and highlighting key events in Christian history; select reading suggestions conclude each of the longer entries. Equally valuable for research and teaching, The Thiselton Companion to Christian Theology will be a go-to reference for pastors, students, teachers, and theologians everywhere.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
