Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion & Philosophy Research Guide: DMIN 810 - Foundations for the Doctor of Ministry

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to Religion and Philosophy.

Where is Search Anything?

Search Anything is located on the library home page (library.liberty.edu) and broadly searches across books, ebooks, articles and more.

You can also search this, and all other Research Guides, using the Search Box located in the top right corner of the page.

Ask Us

 

Sean McNulty's picture
 
 
 
Contact:
1971 University Blvd
Lynchburg, VA 24515
(434)582-3098

Finding E-Books and E-Book Commentaries

  • From the library’s web page locate the “Search Anywhere” search box click “All” and select “Books”- from the drop-down menu. Under the “Search Anywhere”- search box you will find choices; “Print Books,” “E-Books” etc.  The default is “All Books.” Click on the button for “E-books” and enter your search term(s) into the search box. For example, if you are looking for the works of an author enter their name; “George Barna.” If you are interested in a particular title enter it without the first definite or indefinite article; “Second Coming of the Church” for “The Second Coming of the Church.”  
  • For a subject or topic enter the key terms, again avoiding the use of a definite or indefinite article at the beginning of the terms; “universal church” instead of “the universal church.” Once you click on “Go” the database will search our e-book collection for records with the search term(s) you entered.
  • For commentaries on Bible books search “Bible” and the name of the Bible book -- e.g., “Bible Mark Commentaries.” For those that have more than one book, use the distinguishing part of the book’s title followed by the ordinal number. For example; in searching for commentaries on the first epistle to the Thessalonians use;" Thessalonians, 1st" or "Thessalonians, 2nd."

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles and Dissertations

  • The library has a variety of databases; some are general in nature while others are very specialized.
  • Many of our databases support Boolean searches using AND, OR and NOT.
  1. AND will narrow a search by requiring the terms combined with AND to be in the same record. Example; Holy Spirit and Divinity and Luke. This search will find records that discuss the Holy Spirit’s divinity in the writings of Luke.
  2. OR will broaden a search by retrieving records with any of the terms that are ORed. Example; Christ or Messiah. This search will find records with either term. OR should be used with terms that are synonymous or closely related.
  3. NOT narrows a search by eliminating records. Example; NOT “book reviews” will eliminate all book review records.
  • ​These databases can be accessed from the “Databases” link found under the “Collections” dropdown at the top of the library’s home page.
  • Databases that may be especially useful for DMIN research include:
    1. Academic Search Ultimate (a multidisciplinary database);
    2. Atla Religion Database with Atlaserials plus (this is the premier religion database);
    3. ProQuest’s Religion Database (includes dissertations);
    4. Theological Journal Library (includes the full text of 36 evangelical journals).
  • ​Many of the library’s databases include a thesaurus that will provide subject terms that make for more accurate search results. The link to the thesaurus is usually found towards the top of the database’s homepage.