_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
The study of Scripture includes understanding the context of the historical, cultural, social, political, and religious backgrounds of each text. The resources outlined here can help with learning about the life and times of the biblical writings. Explore customs and social setting from a variety of resources on historical backgrounds.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Some popular resources for understanding the cultures, customs, practices, and daily life in biblical times; from both the ANE period and the 1st century G-R period.
The Harvest Handbook of Bible Lands by
"The scope of your learning...will be unlimited and enhanced by leaps and bounds as you use this wonderful tool." from the Foreword by Walter C. Kaiser, Jr New discoveries are constantly being made as archaeologists work to uncover the ancient history of the Bible lands to tell a more complete story of the people, customs, and events of that era. Archaeologist Steven Collins and Bible scholar Joseph M. Holden have spent decades making and researching those discoveries and now offer a wealth of information based on the latest findings. This exciting addition to The Harvest HandbookTM series provides a textual and visual bird's-eye view of ancient Near Eastern biblical geography, culture, history, and chronology. If you're looking for an accurate, readable, and user-friendly resource to further your study of God's Word, The Harvest HandbookTMof Bible Lands provides a valuable backdrop for biblical narratives and literature. With the most up-to-date information from biblical and archaeological disciplines, you will find your knowledge greatly enriched through well-written narrative-style text, numerous maps, instructive photographs, illustrations, and charts. This must-have tool will become your favorite resource as you study Scripture.
Ancient near Eastern Thought and the Old Testament by
Leading evangelical scholar John Walton surveys the cultural context of the ancient Near East, bringing insight to the interpretation of specific Old Testament passages. This new edition of a top-selling textbook has been thoroughly updated and revised throughout to reflect the refined thinking of a mature scholar. It includes over 30 illustrations. Students and pastors who want to deepen their understanding of the Old Testament will find this a helpful and instructive study.
Backgrounds of Early Christianity by
Having long served as a standard introduction to the world of the early church, Everett Ferguson's Backgrounds of Early Christianity has been expanded and updated in this third edition. The book explores and unpacks the Roman, Greek, and Jewish political, social, religious, and philosophical backgrounds necessary for a good historical understanding of the New Testament and the early church. New to this edition are revisions of Ferguson's original material, updated bibliographies, and fresh discussions of first-century social life, of Gnosticism, and of the Dead Sea Scrolls and other Jewish literature.
The Baker Illustrated Guide to Everyday Life in Bible Times by
The authors of the Bible routinely employed mention of manners and customs from the ancient world in their inspired writing, fully intending that the Lord would change readers with these images. But modern readers often miss the full literal and figurative meaning of biblical imagery due to the distance in time and experience between the world of today and the world of the Bible. This fully illustrated guide aims to restore clarity and vitality to these portions of God's Word in order to help readers grasp the full meaning of Scripture. For example, the entry on anointing defines the nature of this act and the connotations associated with it before illustrating how the biblical authors use the act of anointing in their communication with us--communication that reaches its full maturity in Jesus, the Anointed One. Understanding manners and customs like anointing enriches our experience of reading the Bible--and even helps us correctly interpret it. This colorful guide clearly and succinctly introduces modern readers to daily life in Bible times. The cultural practices of the past are fascinating on their own, but even more so as they help us grasp the full meaning of Scripture.
Behind the Scenes of the Old Testament by
This authoritative volume brings together a team of world-class scholars to cover the full range of Old Testament backgrounds studies in a concise, up-to-date, and comprehensive manner. With expertise in various subdisciplines of Old Testament backgrounds, the authors illuminate the cultural, social, and historical contexts of the world behind the Old Testament. They introduce readers to a wide range of background materials, covering history, geography, archaeology, and ancient Near Eastern textual and iconographic studies. Meant to be used alongside traditional literature-based canonical surveys, this one-stop introduction to Old Testament backgrounds fills a gap in typical introduction to the Bible courses. It contains over 100 illustrations, including photographs, line drawings, maps, charts, and tables, which will facilitate its use in the classroom.
A Cultural Handbook to the Bible by
The task of interpreting the Bible -- which was written by and to people living in very different cultural contexts from contemporary Western society -- can seem monumental. The opposite is also true: people can easily forget that studying the Bible is a type of cross-cultural encounter, instead reading their own cultural assumptions into biblical texts. In A Cultural Handbook to the Bible John Pilch bridges this cultural divide by translating important social concepts and applying them to biblical texts. In short, accessible chapters Pilch discusses sixty-three topics related to the cosmos, the earth, persons, family, language, human consciousness, God and the spirit world, and entertainment. Pilch's fresh interpretations of the Bible challenge traditional views and explore topics often overlooked in commentaries. Each chapter concludes with a list of useful references from cultural anthropology or biblical studies, making this book an excellent resource for students of the Bible.
The Eerdmans Companion to the Bible by
A quality guidebook that opens up new vistas and insights into the whole Bible Marked by a broad evangelical perspective, up-to-date research, and contributions from respected biblical scholars, The Eerdmans Companion to the Bible offers a reliable and illuminating guide to the entire Bible. Whether readers find the Bible familiar or foreign, they will appreciate the Companion?s informative articles and its commentary by Connie Gundry Tappy on all of the Old and New Testament books. This comprehensive reference work promises to make the Word of God come alive as never before. Compiled by some of the foremost biblical scholars in the world today New articles by sixty expert authors on many pertinent biblical topics Well-written background information and commentary on every book of the Bible Illustrated with maps, photos, and charts throughout
Exploring the New Testament World by
The timeless message of the New Testament applies to people of every culture and generation. Yet there is great value in understanding the world in which that message was first revealed - its social manners, politics, religious customs, and culture. Exploring the New Testament World, written by classics and Bible scholar Dr. Albert A. Bell, Jr., illuminates the living context of the New Testament, immersing its readers in the intriguing world of Jesus and the early church. An authority on ancient Greek and Roman language, culture, and history, Dr. Bell writes in a readable style that is accessible and enjoyable to any reader - an uncommon accomplishment among New Testament scholars today. Surveying Jewish factions of the era, the social and political structure of the Roman Empire, and the philosophies and religions that surrounded the early church, Dr. Bell helps his readers learn to think like first-century Jews, Greeks, and Romans, illuminating puzzling New Testament passages for clear understanding. Comprehensive Scripture and Subject Indexes make this volume even more useful as a "manners and customs" Bible companion. This authoritative guide receives high praise from college professors and Sunday school teachers alike, proving its appeal to both popular and academic audiences. A "must-have" reference for every pastor and an indispensable resource to any Bible reader.
The Greco-Roman World of the New Testament Era by
What was life like for first-century Christians? Imagine a modest-sized Roman home of a well-to-do Christian household wedged into a thickly settled quarter of Corinth. In the lingering light of a summer evening, men, women and children, merchants, working poor and slaves, a mix of races and backgrounds have assembled in the dimly lit main room are are spilling into the central courtyard. This odd assortment of gathered believers--some thirty in number--are attentive as the newly arrived and travel-weary emissary from Paul reads from the papyrus scroll he has brought from their apostolic mentor. But if you were to be transported to this scene you would perhaps be overwhelmed by a flood of unexpected difference. The voice of the reader recedes as through open windows the din and clamor of the city assault your ears. Hooves clunk and cart wheels grind and echo from the street while drivers shout, vendors call and neighbors gather and converse. And later, as you accompany a family through darkened and dangerous streets to their third-story tenement apartment, you might try to mask your shock at the cramped and unsafe conditions. In The Greco-Roman World of the New Testament Era James Jeffers provides an informative and scenic tour of daily life during the time of Jesus and the apostles. He affords "you-are-there" glimpses of everything from legal codes to dinner foods, from social hierarchy to apartment living, from education to family dynamics. His eye-opening book will advance your understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity and enrich your reading and application of the Bible.
Honor, Patronage, Kinship, and Purity by
For contemporary Western readers, it can be easy to miss or misread cultural nuances in the New Testament. To hear the text correctly we must be attuned to its original context. As David deSilva demonstrates, keys to interpretation are found in paying attention to four essential cultural themes: honor and shame, patronage and reciprocity, kinship and family, and purity and pollution. Through our understanding of honor and shame in the Mediterranean world, we gain new appreciation for how early Christians sustained commitment to a distinctive Christian identity and practice. By examining the protocols of patronage and reciprocity, we grasp more firmly the connections between God's grace and our response. In exploring kinship and household relations, we grasp more fully the ethos of the early Christian communities as a new family brought together by God. And by investigating the notions of purity and pollution along with their associated practices, we realize how the ancient map of society and the world was revised by the power of the gospel. This new edition is thoroughly revised and expanded with up-to-date scholarship. A milestone work in the study of New Testament cultural backgrounds, Honor, Patronage, Kinship, and Purity offers a deeper appreciation of the New Testament, the gospel, and Christian discipleship.
Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Manners and Customs by
Discover how the people of the Bible really lived. Imagine being able to walk the streets of Abraham's hometown, adjust to life in Babylonian captivity, or travel the roads of Palestine amid the latest buzz about Jesus from Nazareth. Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Manners & Customs paints an accurate and descriptive picture of ancient civilization throughout the ages. In twenty historical segments, Howard F. Vos tells the story of God's people from Abraham to the end of the New Testament in biblical order. Unlike other books about Bible lands and cultures, this volume distinguishes the ways life differed from period to period and place to place. The following topics are covered in each segment: Geography and climate Government, religion, and warfare Housing, family, and dress Diet and agriculture Education and work Travel and commerce Complete with over 400 photographs, extensive bibliographies, and easy-to-understand language, Nelson's New Illustrated Bible Manners & Customs is the go-to guide for studying the customs, manners, and lives of the people of the Bible. Please note: this volume is printed in black and white.
The New Manners and Customs of Bible Times by
We know that John the Baptist ate locusts, but were they insects or sweet beans? Why did a fish swallow a coin that Jesus later used to pay the temple tax? How could walking beside a donkey have made Joseph a laughingstock? Good handling of biblical passages demands a working knowledge of the historical and cultural context in which they were written. This bestselling reference book contains colorful photography, artwork, maps, diagrams, and charts to lend knowledge of context. Additionally, there are Scripture and topical indexes for quick fact-checking. Students and teachers of the Bible will benefit from and be fascinated by the helpful features of The New Manners and Customs of Bible Times.
The World of the New Testament by
This volume addresses the most important issues related to the study of New Testament writings. Two respected senior scholars have brought together a team of distinguished specialists to introduce the Jewish, Hellenistic, and Roman backgrounds necessary for understanding the New Testament and the early church. Contributors include renowned scholars such as Lynn H. Cohick, David A. deSilva, James D. G. Dunn, and Ben Witherington III. The book includes seventy-five photographs, fifteen maps, numerous tables and charts, illustrations, and bibliographies. All students of the New Testament will value this reliable, up-to-date, comprehensive textbook and reference volume on the New Testament world.
An Illustrated Reference to Manners and Customs of the Bible by
Any study of the Bible inevitably turns up situations that give us pause. We wonder: How could ancient peoples use slime for mortar? Why is lifting up your eyes a sign of respect? What were the images that Rachel stole from her father? Why would a grieving family hire mourners? How did people in biblical times cast lots? What made the housetop so important? Author James Midwinter Freeman (1827-1900) takes you through the Bible, from Genesis to Revelation, to explain different Oriental manners and customs that were common to people in ancient times, some of which are still evident in the East today. An Illustrated Reference to Manners & Customs of the Bible is a handy reference book filled with more than 140 helpful illustrations and fascinating information that you will turn to again and again. It will greatly aid anyone wishing to increase their understanding of the traditions, customs, and observances of biblical times.
Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity by
The Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical & Post-Biblical Antiquityis a unique reference work that provides background cultural and technical information on the world of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament from 4000 BC to approximately AD 600.Also available as a 4-volume set (ISBN 9781619708617), this complete one-volume edition covers topics from A-Z. This dictionary casts light on the culture, technology, history, and politics of the periods of the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament. Written and edited by a world-class historian and a highly respected biblical scholar, with contributions by many others, this unique reference work explains details of domestic life, technology, culture, laws, and religious practices, with extensive bibliographic material for further exploration.There are 115 articles ranging from 5-20 pages long. Scholars, pastors, and students (and their teachers) will find this to be a useful resource for biblical study, exegesis, and sermon preparation."This is not your standard Bible dictionary, but one that focuses on aspects of daily life in Bible times, addressing interesting and sometimes puzzling topics that are often overlooked in other encyclopedias. I highly recommend the Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquityand will be giving it 'shout-outs' in my classes in the years to come." --James K. Hoffmeier, Professor of Old Testament and Near Eastern Archaeology, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School"This wonderful resource is much more than a dictionary. It is a compendium of substantive essays on numerous facets of daily life in the ancient world. I am frequently asked by pastors and students for recommendations on books that illuminate the manners, customs, and cultural practices of the biblical world. Now I have the ideal set of books to recommend." --Clinton E. Arnold, Dean and Professor of New Testament, Talbot School of Theology, Biola University
Many "Introductions" offer extended discussions of the historical background of the biblical writings including the cultural, political, and religious context of Scripture. These four are just a sampling of the many available.
The New Testament in Antiquity by
This completely revised and updated second edition of The New Testament in Antiquity skillfully develops how Jewish, Hellenistic, and Roman cultures formed the essential environment in which the New Testament authors wrote their books and letters. Understanding of the land, history, and culture of the ancient world brings remarkable new insights into how we read the New Testament itself. Throughout the book, numerous features provide windows into the first-century world. Nearly 500 full color photos, charts, maps, and drawings have been carefully selected. Additional features include sidebars that integrate the book's material with issues of interpretation, discussion questions, and bibliographies.
The Cradle, the Cross, and the Crown by
The Cradle, the Cross, and the Crown guides serious New Testament students through the historical, literary, and theological dimensions of the biblical text, allowing them to better understand and share God's "word of truth" (2 Tim 2:15). It offers a thorough introduction to all twenty-seven books of the New Testament and closely examines events such as Christ's incarnation and virgin birth, his crucifixion and resurrection, and triumphant return. The second edition features updated bibliographies and footnotes, interpretation sections that cover different literary genres in the New Testament, an epilogue that canvasses the entire storyline of Scripture, and a variety of maps. All of these new features contribute to making this a life-long resource for students of Scripture.
The New Testament in Its World by
Your ticket from the twenty-first century to the era of Jesus and the first Christians. A readable, one-volume introduction placing the entire New Testament and early Christianity in its original context, written by distinguished scholar and author N. T. Wright. An ideal guide for students, The New Testament in Its World addresses the many difficult questions faced by those studying early Christianity, including: What was the first century understanding of the Kingdom of God? What is the meaning of the resurrection in its original context? What were the Gospels, and how did they come about? Who was Paul and why are his letters so controversial? Written for both classroom and personal use, this book brings together decades of ground-breaking research, writing, and teaching into one volume. It presents the New Testament books--along with their subjects: Jesus and the early church--within the historical and social context of Second Temple Judaism and Greco-Roman politics and culture. The New Testament in Its World allows you to recover the excitement of what it was like to live as Christians in the first or second centuries. Features include: Surveys of each New Testament book that discuss their significance and provides commentary on their contents, along with implications for the Christian life. Major sections on the historical Jesus, the resurrection of Jesus, and Paul's chronology and theology. Up-to-date discussions of textual criticism and the canonization of the New Testament. Frequent illustrations, maps, charts, diagrams, and artwork provide additional explanations and insights. A distillation of the life work of N. T. Wright on the New Testament with input from Michael Bird. Also available are Video and Workbook companion resources (sold separately) to enhance learning and experience the world of the New Testament.
The Old Testament by
A Respected Scholar Introduces Students to the Discipline of Old Testament Studies Richard Hess, a trusted scholar of the Old Testament and the ancient Near East, offers a substantial introduction to the Old Testament that is accessibly written and informed by the latest biblical scholarship. Hess summarizes the contents of the Old Testament, introduces the academic study of the discipline, and helps readers understand the complex world of critical and interpretive issues, addressing major concerns in the critical interpretation of each Old Testament book and key texts. This volume provides a fulsome treatment for students preparing for ministry and assumes no prior knowledge of the Old Testament. Readers will learn how each book of the Old Testament was understood by its first readers, how it advances the larger message of the whole Bible, and what its message contributes to Christian belief and the Christian community. Twenty maps, ninety photos, sidebars, and recommendations for further study add to the book's usefulness for students. Resources for professors are available through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources.
The World and the Word by
The World and the Word is a fresh introduction to the Old Testament driven largely by the fact that so much Christian preaching and teaching today increasingly ignores what is eighty percent of the Bible. Authors Eugene Merrill, Mark Rooker, and Michael Grisanti work through the world and text of the Old Testament always making three major points: * The Old Testament is a rich source of theology and doctrine that is presupposed by the New Testament. Without it, Christian theology would be seriously deficient. * Mastery of the Old Testament is crucial to an understanding of the New Testament. * The Old Testament offers, by teaching and example, practical principles of belief and behavior for contemporary times. Who God was and what He did then can be replicated in the lives of men and women today. Separating the verifiable biblical and extra-biblical data from the various interpretations of that same information, the book further shows how the Old Testament forms the platform and matrix from which sprang the life, ministry, and teachings of Jesus and the church. The World and the Word will help students see an entry point into the very heart and design of God who loves them and wishes to make them the special object of His grace.
Commentaries that focus especially on culture, customs, and the historical background (and focus less on original languages and debates)
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary Set by
An image rich, passage-by-passage, five-volume commentary box set of the entire New Testament. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary integrates relevant historical and cultural insights, providing a deeper dimension of perspective to the words of Scripture. Discoveries await you that will snap the world of the New Testament into new focus. Things that seem mystifying, puzzling, or obscure will take on tremendous meaning when you view them in their ancient context. With the Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary, you'll: Deepen your understanding of the teachings of Jesus. Discover the close interplay between God's kingdom and the practical affairs of the church. Learn more about the real life setting of the Old Testament writings to help you identify with the people and circumstances described in Scripture. Gain a deeper awareness of the Bible's relevance for your life. Detailed exegetical notes are combined with background information of the cultural settings that will help you interpret the Old Testament. This set brings all five volumes together into one beautiful package: Volume 1: Matthew, Mark, Luke Volume 2A: John Volume 2B: Acts Volume 3: Romans to Philemon Volume 4: Hebrews to Revelation THE ZONDERVAN ILLUSTRATED BIBLE BACKGROUNDS COMMENTARY SERIES Invites you to enter the world of the New Testament with a company of seasoned guides, experts who will help you understand and teach the biblical text more accurately. Features: Commentary based on relevant papyri, inscriptions, archaeological discoveries, and studies of Judaism, Roman culture, Hellenism, and other features of the world of the New Testament. Hundreds of full-color photographs, color illustrations, and line drawings. Copious maps, charts, and timelines. Sidebar articles and insights. "Reflections" on the Bible's relevance for 21st-century living.
Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary
An image rich, passage-by-passage, five-volume commentary box set of the entire Old Testament. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary integrates textual and artifactual context from the ancient Near East to inform our understanding and interpretation of the Hebrew Bible--while remaining respectful to the inerrancy of Scripture. Without a deep knowledge of the ancient cultures the Old Testament was born from, we can be tempted to impose our own culture on the text, potentially distorting it. This unique Bible backgrounds commentary set examines: The history of the ancient Near East as a means of recovering knowledge of the events that shaped the lives of the people. The archaeology as a means of recovering the lifestyle reflected in the material cultures. The literature of the ancient Near East as a means of understanding the heart and soul of the people who inhabited the ancient world that Israel shared. Detailed exegetical notes are combined with comparative discussions of the cultural settings that help scholars interpret the Old Testament. This set brings all five volumes together into one beautiful package: Volume 1: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy Volume 2: Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 and 2 Samuel Volume 3: 1 and 2 Kings, 1 and 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther Volume 4: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel Volume 5: Minor Prophets, Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs THE ZONDERVAN ILLUSTRATED BIBLE BACKGROUNDS COMMENTARY SERIES Invites you to enter the world of the Old Testament with a company of seasoned guides, experts who will give new insights into these cherished writings. Features: Over 2000 photographs, drawings, maps, diagrams, and charts provide a visual feast that breathes fresh life into the text. Passage-by-passage commentary presents archaeological findings, historical explanations, geographic insights, notes on manners and customs, and more. Analysis into the literature of the ancient Near East will open your eyes to new depths of understanding both familiar and unfamiliar passages. Written by an international team of 30 specialists, all top scholars in background studies.
The IVP Bible Background Commentary by
Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference How can we account for the "Book of the Law" suddenly being discovered during Josiah's renovation of the temple (2 Chron 34:14)? We know from Egypt and Mesopotamia that it was common to seal important documents--including theological documents--in the masonry or foundations of a palace or temple in order to inform a future king who might undertake restoration of the building. What might the psalmist have had in mind when praising God for removing our transgressions "as far as the east is from the west" (Ps 103:12)? In an Egyptian hymn to Amun-Re, the deity is praised for his judgment of the guilty. As a result of the god's discernment the guilty are assigned to the east and the righteous to the west. What is meant by God "weighing the heart" (Prov 21:2)? In Egyptian religious tradition we find the notion of the dead being judged before the gods. As the soul is examined, the dead person's heart is weighed in a scale against a feather symbolizing Truth. If the answers are correct and the heart does not outweigh the feather, the soul may enter the realm of everlasting life. The narratives, genealogies, laws, poetry, proverbs and prophecies of the Old Testament are deeply rooted in history. Archaeologists, historians and social scientists have greatly advanced our knowledge of the ancient world of the Bible. When we illuminate the stories of Abraham or David, the imagery of the Psalms or Proverbs, or the prophecies of Isaiah or Jeremiah with this backlight of culture and history, these texts spring to new life. The unique commentary joins The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament in providing historical, social and cultural background for each passage of the Old Testament. From Genesis through Malachi, this single volume gathers and condenses an abundance of specialized knowledge--making it available and accessible to ordinary readers of the Old Testament. Expert scholars John Walton, Victor Matthews and Mark Chavalas have included along with the fruits of their research and collaboration a glossary of historical terms, ancient peoples, texts and inscriptions maps and charts of important historical resources expanded explanations of significant background issues introductory essays on each book of the Old Testament The IVP Bible Background Commentary: Old Testament will enrich your experience of the Old Testament--and your teaching and preaching from Scripture--in a way that no other commentary can do.
The IVP Bible Background Commentary by
Christianity Today's Books of the Year Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference This revised edition of the standard reference work in its field has been expanded throughout to now provide even more up-to-date information by Craig Keener, one of the leading New Testament scholars on Jewish, Greek and Roman culture. To understand and apply the Bible well, you need two crucial sources of information. One is the Bible itself. The other is an understanding of the cultural background of the passage you're reading. Only with the background can you grasp the author's original concerns and purposes. This unique commentary provides, in verse-by-verse format, the crucial cultural background you need for responsible--and richer--Bible study. It includes a glossary of cultural terms and important historical figures, maps and charts, up-to-date bibliographies, and introductory essays about cultural background information for each book of the New Testament. Based on decades of in-depth study, this accessible and bestselling commentary is valuable for pastors in sermon preparation, for Sunday-school and other church teachers as they build lessons, for missionaries concerned not to import their own cultural biases into the Bible, for college and seminary students in classroom assignments, and for everyday Bible readers seeking to deepen and enhance their study of Scripture.
The Baker Illustrated Bible Background Commentary by
We are far removed from the time and culture of the biblical world, and this distance easily leads to misunderstanding and misinterpretation. Our understanding and appreciation for God's Word increase exponentially when we know about the context in which the biblical books were written. So while many Bible commentaries explain the theological meaning of the text, The Baker Illustrated Bible Background Commentary provides fascinating cultural and historical insights into God's Word. Richly illustrated with full-color photos throughout, this one-volume background commentary includes articles by leading Old and New Testament scholars on subjects such as - countries, cities, and cultures of the Holy Land and the Greco-Roman world - warfare and execution - religious groups and customs - fashion, athletics, feasts, and celebrations - honor, shame, and hospitality - and much more This colorful, informative volume is an essential companion for pastors, teachers, and laypeople who want to enhance their personal Bible study and help others do the same.
New Testament Background Commentary by
The New Testament is a fascinating collection of documents that illuminate the life and ministry of Jesus of Nazareth. It contains an amazing number of details in its texts that can easily be lost on the modern mind. This means that the full impact can pass by the reader, yet sometimes that snippet of information has major consequences for the meaning of the passage. Commentaries are of some use, they cannot always pause long enough to develop the detail as they explain the main teaching of the passage. Bible dictionaries are helpful, but they are more interested in expressing the meaning of words rather than the significance of situations. Harold Mare has helped the modern reader by combing the best elements of both in his New Testament Background Commentary. It is both a commentary and a dictionary of words, phrases and situations that shed light on the point the writer is trying to make. He accomplishes this by placing the explanations in Bible order so that it is easy to access the background comments of this book as you read through the Bible passage. It is an invaluable companion to any reading of the New Testament. It is such a helpful tool you will wonder how you managed without one before!
These resources offer a brief introduction to doing research on ANE, 2TJ, and G-R primary texts. They also offer English translations of selected texts.
Readings from the Ancient near East by
Essential to a proper understanding of the Old Testament is a knowledge of the political, historical, and theological environment of the ancient Near East. While there is an abundance of material explaining this environment, primary source texts are often unavailable or inaccessible to the beginning Old Testament student. This volume in the Encountering Biblical Studies series fills that void. Readings from the Ancient Near East takes the student through a wide variety of primary source texts from the ancient Near East that illuminate every book of the Old Testament. It is the companion volume to Encountering the Old Testament, coauthored by Bill Arnold and Bryan Beyer. The editors have compiled this volume with the beginning Old Testament student in mind. The selections are intended to move a learner with little or no knowledge of the ancient Near East to a basic understanding of its significant texts and authors. Texts spanning more than two thousand years include Sumerian creation accounts, epic literature from Mesopotamia, cultic ritual texts from Egypt, and prophetic references from Syria. Readings from the Ancient Near East will surely become a standard text for professors, students, pastors, Sunday school teachers, and serious lay readers.
Readings from the First-Century World by
Readings from a variety of genres provide Bible readers with essential background information on the New Testament.
Ancient Texts for the Study of the Hebrew Bible by
The Hebrew Bible represents no mere collection of books but a stunning array of literary genres. To fully illuminate the history and culture of the Old Testament, it is necessary to compare these ancient writings to similar texts written concurrently by Israel's neighbors. Beginning with an overview of the important literary archives of the ancient Near East, Sparks provides exhaustive references to the ancient literary counterparts to the Hebrew Bible's major genres. Surveying the ancient writings found throughout Egypt, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, and Palestine, Sparks provides a brief summary of each text discussed, translating brief portions and linking them to literarily similar biblical passages. Exploring over thirty genres--wisdom, hymns, love poetry, rituals, prophecy, apocalyptic, novella, epic legend, myth, genealogy, history, law, treaty, epigraphic materials, and others--it offers an exemplary guide to the fertile literary environment from which the canonical writings sprung. Rich with bibliographic material, this invaluable catalog enables the reader to locate not only the published texts in their original ancient languages but to find suitable English translations and commentary bearing on these ancient texts. A number of helpful indexes round out this outstanding resource. Providing students with a thorough introduction to the literature of the ancient Near East--and time-pressed scholars with an admirably up-to-date research tool--it will become a syllabus standard for a myriad of courses.
Ancient Texts for New Testament Studies by
One of the daunting challenges facing the New Testament interpreter is achieving familiarity with the immense corpus of related literatures. Scholars and students alike must have a fundamental understanding of the content, provenance, and utility for New Testament interpretation of a wide range of pagan, Jewish, and diversely Christian documents. This thoroughly revised and significantly expanded edition of Noncanonical Writings and New Testament Interpretation examines a vast range of ancient literature, masterfully distilling details of date, language, text, and translation into an eminently usable handbook. Craig Evans evaluates the materials' relevance for interpreting the New Testament and provides essential biographies.
The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha by
For decades students, professors, clergy, and general readers have relied on The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha as an unparalleled authority on the Apocrypha. This fifth edition remains the best way to study and understand the material at home or in the classroom. This thoroughly revised andsubstantially updated edition contains the best scholarship informed by recent discoveries and anchored in the solid Study Bible tradition.* Introductions and extensive annotations for each book by acknowledged experts in the field provide context and guidance.* Introductory essay on the Apocrypha gives readers an overview that guides more intensive study.* Maps and diagrams within the text contextualize where events took place and how to understand them.* A timeline, calendar, and essay on the Persian and Hellenistic Periods help to contextualize the books.A volume that users will want to keep for continued reference, The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha continues the Oxford University Press tradition of providing excellence in scholarship for the general reader. Generations of users attest to its status as the best one-volume Bible reference tool forany home, library, or classroom.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by
ECPA Gold Medallion (Reference Works) The Dictionary of New Testament Background joins the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters and the Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments as the fourth in a landmark series of reference works on the Bible. In a time when our knowledge of the ancient Mediterranean world has grown by leaps and bounds, this volume sets out for readers the wealth of Jewish and Greco-Roman background that should inform our reading and understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity. The Dictionary of New Testament Background takes full advantage of the flourishing study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and offers individual articles focused on the most important scrolls. In addition, the Dictionary encompasses the fullness of second-temple Jewish writings, whether pseudepigraphic, rabbinic, parables, proverbs, histories or inscriptions. Articles abound on aspects of Jewish life and thought, including family, purity, liturgy and messianism. The full scope of Greco-Roman culture is displayed in articles ranging across language and rhetoric, literacy and book culture, religion and cults, honor and shame, patronage and benefactors, travel and trade, intellectual movements and ideas, and ancient geographical perspectives. No other reference work presents so much in one place for students of the New Testament. Here an entire library of scholarship is made available in summary form. The Dictionary of New Testament Background can stand alone or work in concert with one or more of its companion volumes in the series. Written by acknowledged experts in their fields, this wealth of knowledge of the New Testament era is carefully aimed at the needs of contemporary students of the New Testament. And its full bibliographies and cross-references to other volumes in the series will make it the first book to reach for in any investigation of the New Testament in its ancient setting. Reference volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible, encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
Use the SBL Handbook to identify writings as primary sources, to locate their official abbreviations, and to see examples of Turabian style formatting and citation.
The SBL Handbook of Style by 
Roman Society and Roman Law in the New Testament by
Originally the Sarum Lectures delivered at the University of Oxford in 1960-61, this volume deals with the Hellenistic and Roman setting, and especially the legal, administrative, and municipal background, of the Acts of the Apostles and the synoptic gospels. Sherwin-White -- 'someone from the Roman side,' as he described himself -- brings his knowledge of Roman public law and administration and of city life in the eastern provinces to bear on these aspects of New Testament history. The first three lectures concern the trials of Jesus and of Paul in Jerusalem, addressing questions of the powers of Roman governors and the nature of their jurisdiction. Topics of the remaining lectures include the rights of Roman citizenship, the trial of Paul in Rome, and differences between the Galilean narrative and the Graeco-Roman world of the Acts.
Rome in the Bible and the Early Church by
What do the New Testament, the early Christian churches, and Rome have to do with one another? Rome both dominated the shape of first-century life and became a place of Christian activity. Rome in the Bible and the Early Church analyzes these facts and examines the influence Rome had over the development of the Bible and early Christianity. This fascinating, accessible collection of essays addresses a variety of issues including Paul's depiction of his Roman prison-keepers in the Book of Philippians, Luke's surprising account of Paul's arrival in Rome, and the connection between Roman culture and the ethical passages in the Book of Romans. This book will be essential for students of New Testament and early Christianity and fascinating reading for pastors and all readers interested in connecting the Bible and early Christians to their Roman influences.
In Stone and Story by
This beautifully designed, full-color textbook introduces the Roman background of the New Testament by immersing students in the life and culture of the thriving first-century towns of Pompeii and Herculaneum, which act as showpieces of the world into which the early Christian movement was spreading. Bruce Longenecker, a leading scholar of the ancient world of the New Testament, discusses first-century artifacts in relation to the life stories of people from the Roman world. The book includes discussion questions, maps, and 175 color photographs. Additional resources are available through Textbook eSources.
The Christians As the Romans Saw Them by
This book, which includes a new preface by the author, offers an engrossing portrayal of the early years of the Christian movement from the perspective of the Romans. "A fascinating . . . account of early Christian thought. . . . Readable and exciting."--Robert McAfee Brown, New York Times Book Review "Should fascinate any reader with an interest in the history of human thought."--Phoebe-Lou Adams, Atlantic Monthly "The pioneering study in English of Roman impressions of Christians during the first four centuries A.D."--E. Glenn Hinson, Christian Century "This gracefully written study . . . draws upon well-known sources--both pagan and Christian--to provide the general reader with an illuminating account . . . [of how] Christianity appeared to the Romans before it became the established religion of the empire."--Merle Rubin, Christian Science Monitor
The Spirit of Early Christian Thought by
"[A] magnificently learned, deeply felt and surprisingly pellucid set of essays."--Michael Dirda, Washington Post Book World "A delight to read. It is written as history ought to be, especially for nonspecialist readers."--Richard A. Kauffman, Christian Century In this eloquent introduction to early Christian thought, eminent religious historian Robert Louis Wilken examines the tradition that such figures as St. Augustine, Gregory of Nyssa, and others set in place. These early thinkers constructed a new intellectual and spiritual world, Wilken shows, and they can still be heard as living voices in the modern world. In chapters on topics including early Christian worship, Christian poetry and the spiritual life, the Trinity, Christ, the Bible, and icons, Wilken shows that the energy and vitality of early Christianity arose from within the life of the Church. While early Christian thinkers drew on the philosophical and rhetorical traditions of the ancient world, it was the versatile vocabulary of the Bible that loosened their tongues and minds and allowed them to construct the world anew, intellectually and spiritually. These thinkers were not seeking to invent a world of ideas, Wilken shows, but rather to win the hearts of men and women and to change their lives. Early Christian thinkers set in place a foundation that has endured. Their writings are an irreplaceable inheritance, and Wilken shows that they can still be heard as living voices within contemporary culture.
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs by
A compendium of quotations culled from the ten volume Ante-Nicene Fathers and arranged by subject for quick reference. The quotes include comments on 700 theological, moral, and historical topics from prominent figures such as Origen, Clement of Alexandria, Clement of Rome, and Hippolytus. Some entr
Early Christian Doctrine by
This revised edition of the standard history of the first great period in Christian thought has been thoroughly updated in the light of the latest historical findings. Dr. Kelly organizes an ocean of material by outlining the development of each doctrine in its historical context. He lucidly summarizes the genesis of Chrisitian thought from the close of the apostolic age to the Council of Chalcedon in the fifth century--a time teeming with fresh and competing ideas. The doctrines of the Trinity, the authority of the Bible and tradition, the nature of Christ, salvation, original sin and grace, and the sacraments are all extensively treated in these pages. This revised edition of Early Christian Doctrines includes: Sweepingly updated early chapters Revised and updated bibliographies A completely new chapter on Mary and the saints
The Early Church by
Examines the beginning of the Christian movement during the first centuries AD, and the explosive force of its expansion throughout the Roman world
Resources for a chronological history of Israel, a survey of the Intertestamental period, and the historical setting of the Greco-Roman world in the 1st century.
A History of Israel by
A History of Israel, Revised Edition provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of ancient Israel--from the creation account to the events just prior to the New Testament era. This thoroughly revised edition focuses on Old Testament texts as well as ancient Near Eastern literary and archaeological sources to highlight the important modern controversies surrounding this portion of Scripture. Topics treated include current approaches to the study of Israel's history, common fallacies in modern, secular biblical studies, and the evidence for the historical authenticity of the Old Testament accounts. Kaiser and Wegner thus present an up-to-date, conservative position on matters relating to ancient Israel's past. The volume also includes over 600 photos, charts, and maps that serve as visual aids.
Kingdom of Priests by
From the origins and exodus to the restoration and new hope, Kingdom of Priests offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of Old Testament Israel. Merrill explores the history of ancient Israel not only from Old Testament texts but also from the literary and archeological sources of the ancient Near East. After selling more than 30,000 copies, the book has now been updated and revised. The second edition addresses and interacts with current debates in the history of ancient Israel, offering an up-to-date articulation of a conservative evangelical position on historical matters. The text is accented with nearly twenty maps and charts.
Early Judaism by
Culled from The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism, a monumental, groundbreaking reference work published in late 2010, Early Judaism: A Comprehensive Overview contains fifteen first-rate essays from a diverse group of internationally renowned scholars. This volume provides the most comprehensive and authoritative overview available of Judaism in the Hellenistic and early Roman periods. Contributors: John M. G. Barclay Miriam Pucci Ben Zeev Katell Berthelot John J. Collins Erich S. Gruen Daniel C. Harlow James L. Kugel Adam Kolman Marshak Steve Mason James S. McLaren Maren R. Niehoff David T. Runia Lawrence H. Schiffman Chris Seeman Gregory E. Sterling Loren T. Stuckenbruck Eibert Tigchelaar Eugene Ulrich Annewies van den Hoek James C. VanderKam J�rgen K. Zangenberg
Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament by
This survey of intertestamental Judaism illuminates the customs and controversies that provide essential background for understanding the New Testament. Scott opens a door into the Jewish world and literature leading up to the development of Christianity. He also offers an accessible overview of the data through helpful charts, maps, and diagrams incorporated throughout the text to engage his readers.
Judaism Before Jesus by
Turning the page from Malachi to Matthew, we skip a lot of history. In fact, it is something like missing several key episodes in an ongoing television saga. The setting and main plot line are familiar, but new characters have appeared and more recent events and developments are assumed. Did anyone record the episodes we missed? Fortunately a few did. Their reception wasn't always good, and there are annoying cuts and splices. But Anthony J. Tomasino has put together the missing episodes and skillfully retells the story of Judaism before Jesus, from the time of Ezra and Nehemiah to the Herods, and even up to Masada. The result is an entertaining, informative and enlightening retelling of the story of Judaism and the development of the ideas, subplots and characters that shaped the world of Jesus and the first Christians.
An Introduction to Second Temple Judaism by
An internationally respected expert on the Second Temple period provides a fully up-to-date introduction to this crucial area of Biblical Studies. This introduction, by a world leader in the field, provides the perfect guide to the Second Temple Period, its history, literature, and religious setting. Lester Grabbe magisterially guides the reader through the period providing a careful overview of the most studied sources, the history surrounding them and the various currents within Judaism at the time. This book will be a core text for courses on the Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha, as well as Qumran, Intertestamental Literature and Early Judaism.
The Jewish People in the First Century, Volume 1 by
Series: Compendia Rerum Iudaicarum ad Novum Testamentum Section 1 - The Jewish people in the first century Historial geography, political history, social, cultural and religious life and institutions Edited by S. Safrai and M. Stern in cooperation with D. Flusser and W.C. van Unnik Section 2 - The Literature of the Jewish People in the Period of the Second Temple and the Talmud Section 3 - Jewish Traditions in Early Christian Literature
The History of the Jewish People in the Age of Jesus Christ by
Emil Schürer's Geschichte des judischen Volkes im Zeitalter Jesu Christi, originally published in German between 1874 and 1909 and in English between 1885 and 1891, is a critical presentation of Jewish history, institutions, and literature from 175 B.C. to A.D. 135. It has rendered invaluable services to scholars for nearly a century. The present work offers a fresh translation and a revision of the entire subject-matter. The bibliographies have been rejuvenated and supplemented; the sources are presented according to the latest scholarly editions; and all the new archaeological, epigraphical, numismatic and literary evidence, including the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Bar Kokhba documents, has been introduced into the survey. Account has also been taken of the progress in historical research, both in the classical and Jewish fields. This work reminds students of the profound debt owed to nineteenth-century learning, setting it within a wider framework of contemporary knowledge, and provides a foundation on which future historians of Judaism in the age of Jesus may build.
Jesus and the Rise of Early Christianity by
by Paul Barnett has already been called a worthy sequel to F. F. Bruce's efforts to write a history of the New Testament period.
New Testament History by
This book recounts the Roman and Jewish context of New Testament times...the lives of John and Jesus, and the history of the first two generations of the Church.
New Testament History by
Essential to an understanding of the New Testament is a comprehension of the individuals, events, and social movements that shaped the setting from which Jesus and his followers emerged. Unfortunately, many accounts by historians can leave readers feeling overwhelmed and confused. New Testament History provides a worthy solution to this problem. A well-known expert on the social situation of the New Testament, Ben Witherington offers an engaging look into the world that gave birth to the Christian faith.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity. New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception". All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use. Under the editorship of Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow, a huge range of contributors have revised and updated the text, which has made an already outstanding work even better.The Dictionary covers:1) politics, government, economy - from political figures to political systems, terms and practices, histories of major states and empires, economic theory, agriculture, artisans and industry, trade and markets2) religion and mythology - deities and mythological creatures, beliefs and rituals, sanctuaries and sacred buildings, astrology3) law and philosophy - from biographies of lawgivers and lawyers to legal terms and procedures, from major and minor philosophers to philosophical schools, terms, and concepts4) science and geography - scientists and specific theory and practice, doctors and medicine, climate and landscape, natural disasters, regions and islands, cities and settlements, communications5) languages, literature, art, and architecture - languages and dialects, writers and literary terms and genres, orators and rhetorical theory and practice, drama and performance, art, painters and sculptors, architects, buildings and materials6) archaeology and historical writing - amphorae and pottery, shipwrecks and cemeteries, historians, and Greek and Roman historiography7) military history - generals, arms and armour, famous battles, attitudes to warfare8) social history, sex, and gender - women and the family, kinship, peasants and slaves, attitudes to sexuality
