Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion & Philosophy Research Guide: NBST 621 - Hebrews

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to Religion and Philosophy.

Introduction

This course guide for NBST 621-Hebrews, is intended to direct you to electronic resources that will aid you in your assigned exegetical paper and to instruct you in how to find commentaries and scholarly journal articles for your paper.

Commentaries

Biblical commentaries on the letter to the Hebrews will discuss issues related to the epistle. These include authorship, recipients or audience, date of composition and other related issues.  Good commentaries will seek to understand the human author's intended meaning and will deal with the interpretive problems within the text. These commentaries will interpret the whole book verse by verse starting with chapter 1 verse 1 to the end of the epistle or book.

Finding Commentaries;  

  • Access the library’s online catalog at www.liberty.edu  for print and electronic books.
  • From the library’s web page under where you find “Search Anywhere” click on the down arrow next to “All” and select “Books.” 
  • Under the search box you will find choices; click on the bubble for "E-Books."
  • For commentaries on Biblical books search “Bible” and the name of the Bible book followed by the word "Commentaries, e.g., “Bible. – Mark -- Commentaries.” For I John use, "Bible -- Epistles of John -- Commentaries.


Below you will find several commentaries on the epistle of Hebrews. You may need to find additional commentaries. 

Journal Articles

  • The Theological Journal Library is an excellent database to use for full-text articles on specific theological topics and biblical passages. It contains the full text of 36 conservative evangelical journals.
    • To access this database click on the red "Databases" tab above and scroll down to the database link or put your cursor on “Collection” then choose “Databases.” On the databases, page choose the letter “T” under “Browse by Letter” then scroll down to the database.
    • Search the database by topic by choosing “Search Journals” located on the right-hand side of the page. Put your search terms in quotes followed by a tilde (~) and a number, e.g. “Holy Spirit eschatology”~10. The database will search for all these terms and retrieve articles that have these terms within 10 words of each other.
    • “Search by Verse” is also located on the right-hand side. Once you click on “Search by Verse” key in the verse or passage that interests you, e.g. 2 Thes 2:7.
    • After you enter a search a list of journal article titles should be retrieved; click on the title to see the full text.

       

  • Another very useful database is the Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials.
    • To access this database click on the red "Databases" tab above and scroll down to the database link or put your cursor on “Collection” then choose “Databases.” On the databases, page choose the letter “A” under “Browse by Letter” then scroll down to the database.
    • This database can also be searched by biblical passages specifically in the “Scripture Citation” field. This also will result in more relevant search results. To access this feature click on “Scripture” at the top of the database’s home page.